Homemade Pillow Ornament: Finished!

Hello Friends,

I hope you are doing well.  I am on the cusp of finishing up a new quilt.  In between breaks, I managed to finish up a 2011 Christmas gift for a young friend of mine.

IMG_4390

I just have one more 2011 Christmas gift to make.  Making good progress… NOT! :)  Fortunately my friends are graciously understanding, I think!

Thanks for stopping by.  Come back tomorrow for another free pattern download.  Meanwhile curious mind wants to know what are on your tree – homemade, or store-bought ornaments, or both?

p.s.  I am quite surprised at the white vs. rainbow lights responses left on this post.  I had thought most of you would choose white! ;)

16 thoughts on “Homemade Pillow Ornament: Finished!

  1. I have been married for 47 years and most of the ornaments on our tree have been made by me and added a few each year. They all bring back special memories of the years our children were home and now our grandchildren. I strill use the ornaments that my children made me when they were in grade school. One tradition I started with the grandchildren was to take a picture of each family and put it on fabric and make an ornament with it. I make one for my tree, one of each of our kids and their families and then one for each of their children so that some day when they get married they will have a set of ornaments of their entire childhood to take with them. As to the color of lights on the tree – I bought a tree with clear lights on it and then I string lots of colored lights on it.

  2. What a beautiful ornament. Your friend will remember you always and cherish it forever. My ornaments are mostly handmade by me or someone else. Ornaments made with the children when they were young were divided amongst us when I became an empty-nester.

  3. When my children were young we had a lot of “home-made” ornaments made by my children in elementary school. Now that they are all grown up, we have very few home-made. I have tried to make my tree look Victorian — I have artificial red roses and blue poinsettia leaves and lots of gold balls and other ornaments. It really has no theme but I went buy it just last night and thought to myself “…my tree is really pretty”. Oh, and I have all white lights. I love the way the white looks through my window.
    Your homemade ornaments are darling. Do you think I could make sparkling gold quilts to go on my tree? Thank you for letting me share my feelings, thoughts, and ideas.

  4. Well, the tree in the living room is covered in store-bought feathered birds, metallic ball ornaments and glittery, shimmering store-bought snowflakes, but that’s where my handmade, hand beaded crazy-quilted tree skirt lives. The tree in the kitchen has a mixture of store-bought ball ornaments and jingle bell garland, every home made ornament my children have made since they were in preschool, and store-bought/gifted ornaments that look like gingerbread cookies, Batman, LEGO Santa, and other kid-friendly ornaments. The skirt under that tree is handmade, though, too — with patchwork, decorative machine stitches, and some machine embroidered poinsettias. I do need to make a new skirt for that tree, though, because the one I have is too small in diameter and the hole in the middle of it is huge — it would probably fit around a 6-year-old’s waist, actually! I’ve gotten much better at measuring since I made that (fortunately)!

    Your pillow ornament is beautiful. I don’t know how you find the time to do all that you do, Wendy! Merry Christmas!

  5. Oh, I love that! Is the pattern for the cross stitch from a book or something you whipped up? I’d love to get the pattern.

    We have a mixture of store-bought, made by mom, and made by kids ornaments. I’ve always wanted more of a homey tree than a “designer” tree, but even still there are some ornaments I’d rather quietly bury in the bottom of the storage box that my kids seem to particularly love. I’ve more or less given up. :)

    It was my goal at one time to make an ornament from every craft I’ve learned. I didn’t keep up with that, but in some instances an ornament is a good item to learn a new craft with.

Leave a Reply

