Quilts from Storage at DAR Museum, Part 4

One of the quilts I was able to view at the DAR Museum’s Quilts from Storage program was the Thomas Sykes Quilt.  If you like sampler and album quilts, this quilt is for you!

[Image Source: http://www.quiltindex.org]

Reading through the Quilt Index description, I am a bit curious as to why the blocks all finished at 12.5″ x 13.5″, and not squared at 12.5″ x 12.5″ or 13.5″ x 13.5″.  That wasn’t brought up during the program, and at the time the  blocks all looked squared up to me!  I wasn’t quite concerned about whether the blocks were squared up when I saw the quilt in person because I was mainly captivated by the beautiful printed fabrics incorporated in the blocks!

These are my two favorite blocks.  That miniature Lone Star is just astounding – remember, all those pieces have to fit in a 12.5″ x 13.5″ block!

Somerset Patchwork and Quilting of Australia has a pattern reproducing the Thomas Sykes quilt, sans the mini Lone Star block.

[Image Source: Screen Shot from Somerset Patchwork and Quilting website]

I would love to hear from you if you have reproduced the Sykes quilt.

I hope you have enjoy the Thomas Sykes quilt!  Happy Monday, dear Friends!

Click here, here, and here for my past DAR quilt posts.

12 thoughts on “Quilts from Storage at DAR Museum, Part 4

  1. Wow, check out that fabric around each block. At first I thought they were all separate flying geese, but it is the fabric. Very cool.

  2. Wow! No I haven’t done that quilt, and I’m pretty sure I never will. LOL! It is just simply gorgeous, but I’ve done Dear Jane and that’s good enough for me :*) That lone star block is maybe the most amazing block I’ve ever seen!!!! Thanks for sharing this – it’s a fascinating quilt.

  3. That is incredible. I am trying to imagine organizing two different sized blocks!! That Lone Star is stunning. How on earth did she do that with those tiny pieces? Maybe we need a big quiltalong to work on one together ;-}

  4. OH WOW!! What amazing blocks whatever their size. The sashing fabric is so interesting and those reds… I adore them :0) Thank you so very much for sharing your beautiful pictures!!

  5. Pingback: Color Burst in QUILT (June/July 2013) | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

