Log Cabin Leaves in FONS and PORTER’S EASY QUILTS (Fall 2012)

Hello Friends, I noticed the weather has gotten just a tad cooler and cozier at my end!   I have just the cozy project to share with you to usher in the cool weather — my Log Cabin Leaves Quilted Pillows, recently featured in Fons and Porter‘s Easy Quilts, Fall 2012.

[Image source: Fons and Porter]

The Log Cabin blocks always convey the feeling of coziness to me.  So I decided to incorporate the Log Cabin concept in a cozy project for the autumn.

My thought in designing these pillows is that these pillows would make quick and easy gifts as well as seasonal accents for the fall.

The fabrics I used are from Thimbleberries’ Shades Apart collection, released by RJR.  This collection has lots and lots of fabrics that will delight quilters!  Nonetheless, as you know, all Log Cabin blocks are highly conducive in using up any scraps as well.

I went ahead and constructed the pillow tops as I would quilts, i.e., I pieced the pillow tops, and actually quilted them with Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.  Each pillow top was quilted differently.  The quilting scheme for the red pillow is shown in the magazine.


The pillow inserts I used are from Fairfield’s Poly-fil Home Elegance collection.  I am super happy with how they feel and make my pillows look.  You can click here to read more about these pillow inserts.

I hope you have enjoyed my attempt to interpret the Log Cabin blocks from a home decor point of view. Now curious mind wants to know if you are a Log Cabin fan.

Thanks for stopping by, and have a fabulous day!

21 thoughts on “Log Cabin Leaves in FONS and PORTER’S EASY QUILTS (Fall 2012)

  1. I love the heavily quilted ones, of course. But the fabric would appeal to modern quilters too so I like what you did with the simpler quilting too.

  2. Beautiful Wendy. Pillows are such rewarding projects. Perfect to make to decorate your home, or to give as gifts. Yours are spectacular. Fun design, beautiful fabrics and gorgeous quilting.

    I do love Timbleberries and that brown certainly caught my eye as a “must have”, but the collection looks great overall.

    I’m definitely looking forward to seeing you in this issue.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  3. Beautiful pattern Wendy…I love pillows and I love the log cabin. I’m hand quilting a king size log cabin right now…..great colours in your pillows too, we have a Thimbleberries club here at my local fabric shop….such fun.

  4. Love the pillows. I love log cabin quilts and was able to make one a few years back. I love hockey and Dallas Stars is my favorite team. So I did a quilt to commemorate their Stanley Cup win. I called it the Road to the Stanley Cup. I quilted the players names in the quilt. It was really fun to make. I can see another log cabin quilt in my future!

  5. WOW! Those are beautiful. My computer has crashed and I am on hubby’s cp. So it may be a while before you hear from me. Take care.

  6. Wendy–thank you so much for being so inspirational. Sorry I’ve been so behind in my blog reading, but I just wanted you to know how much I appreciate you taking your time in sharing your beautiful work :)

  7. Oh Wendy – so gorgeous!!! I am absolutely a log cabin fan – yum!!! They almost look like butterflies too :*) My mind is spinning with ideas now – how will I ever fit a new project in? Tough life huh? Hahahaha! Congratulations on another beautifully published project =^..^=

  8. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show: Pillows! « Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

