The Elodie Downer Quilt

Hello Friends,  I had asked you about quilt you might have that were made by your ancestors in this post.  I appreciate many of you sharing about the treasured heirlooms you have in your family.

Today I am sharing with you a quilt that is as old as I am.  Pam of Oregon sent me pictures of a quilt that is treasured in her family.  I just love that elephant block [Elephants are big at my house right now because of Gumbo – that’s what Miss Baby calls “Dumbo”].

Pam wrote, “The quilt that came to mind with your question about “ancestral” quilts is one that was made for me when my first child was born 37 years ago. One of the older ladies in our congregation put together some embroidered blocks that had been done years before for a missions project. I used the quilt for all three of our boys, and now I use it for the grandchildren. Because the batting is of the older and more “lumpy” variety that has shifted a lot, I use it as extra padding in the pack-n-play.”

Pam also shared a little about the quilt maker, Elodie Downer.  “The lady who made it, Elodie Downer, died several years ago. She was a very sweet lady, and, obviously, I loved the quilt since I still have/use it almost 40 years later.”

What a sweet quilt.  I am amazed by how vivid the colors of the embroidery still look.  I love hearing about your treasured quilt, Pam!  Thanks heaps for sharing.

I have more goodies to share with you from fellow Ivor Spring readers.  Stay tuned.  Meanwhile, have a lovely and safe weekend!  Blessings to you all.

6 thoughts on “The Elodie Downer Quilt

  1. if you read my blog wont-to-bequilter you will see my header has a bow tie quilt that my mother in law make years ago she died 2 years ago at the age of 91

  2. I do not have any quilts from ancesters… or older relatives. I seem to be the only quilter. however what started me quilting was a partially finshed quilt that my Grandmother said I was the only one who ever asked about it. Turns out that was my older sister. I finshed it quilted it and then brought it to show her and my mom once when we were all together, (the both are out of state) She claimed it, but I kept it for a few more yrs b4 I sent it to her. I mean, I did all that work and all…..
    I also inherited another quilt that my GM cut out and never finished. It was a strawberry applique. I put that together, and used what was proably suppsed to be embroidery of the strawberry flower on corresponding blocks as a pattern for quilting. Ihave the instructions for it too, and I hand appliqued and quilted it. this one will not be leaving my house w/o me! Well maybe to a show and tell but then I will be with it.

  3. The embroidered quilts/pillow cases/dish towels of years ago evoke such sweet memories. I am amazed at the baby quilt shown…..it appears to be machine quilted which would definitely put it at the very beginning of the movement! Very ‘cutting edge’!!! A treasure for sure……..

Leave a Reply

