China Blue in QUILT (October/November 2012)

I readily confess I am a dish-aholic – it’s on record!

So, my China Blue quilt is inevitably a natural course of events considering just how much I adore and just love dishes, especially the traditional blue and white china.

China Blue is also extra special because it is my first quilt being featured in QUILT magazine.

The fabrics for this quilt are from Benartex‘s (Kanvas Studio) Harmony Collection.

The blocks are paper-pieced pinwheels, and are fun to make too.  The accuracy of paper-pieced blocks really appeals to me.  The way the blocks are arranged and sewn together in the quilt ends up producing a secondary pinwheel effect:

[Image Source: QUILT magazine]

Here you see the quilt with some of my dishes:

I adore that scroll fabric used for the sashing:

Quilting was done with Aurifil Mako 50 thread (color 2310) over Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batting.  You can catch a glimpse of the feather quilting I did on the quilt here:

Kits to replicate my China Blue are available for sale at Quilting Hen.  Click here to purchase the kit.

[Image Source: QUILT Magazine]

Oh wait, the instructions to make the coordinating 18″ x 18″ double-sided napkins you see nestling in the basket at the bottom of the table are free for download here.

[Image Source: QUILT Magazine]

I hope you have enjoyed my China Blue quilt!  If you collect red and white or any other color scheme, by all means substitute the colors and come up with your own version of your “china” quilt!  Now for the love of dishes and quilting, I leave you with one final china + quilt photo!

28 thoughts on “China Blue in QUILT (October/November 2012)

  1. Oh my goodness these are breathtaking and yes I am partial to blue and white and also the brown and blue. Your work is always jaw dropping gorgeous.
    I will look for that magazine.. I do have the magazine with the last quilt here you featured. One of these days I will get to it.
    Bunny

  2. Love your blue and white quilt,my favorite colors also.Hope to make a blue and white quilt for myself one of these days. Love your blog

  3. When my issue came I was so thrilled to see “my friend” Wendy’s lovely face smiling at me from the pages. The minute I saw the blue/white I just knew it was you! Being a ‘fellow’ dish-aholic I recognize the symptoms immediately! LOL! Just as for quilters, there is no known cure for such a malady and we a recognized by the smiles on our faces;-D Hehehe………

  4. Oh wow! We have so much in common! My kitchen is done is cobalt blue and white, and I have blue/white dishes :*) Your quilt is just gorgeous, of course! Congratulations on creating a fresh design to use those wonderful fabrics!!! How can a blue and white quilt ever be less than stunning? I made 3 blue and white quilts last year alone :*)

  5. Congratulations! I love blue too. Your quilt is gorgeous. Your love of dishes made me think of my mother who always protected her set of dishes with the Blue Willow pattern. I still have them and wish I had a place to display them like you do. Can you tell me about that last picture with the applique. I love that too.

  6. I love how you created the effect of blue “borders” around the plates! Wouldn’t it be fun to do a version with similar fabrics, but add a ring of embroidered blue “flowers” to make the plates look even more like the ones in your collection?

    I haven’t tried paper-piecing yet, but it’s on my QBS (Quilter’s Bucket List) along with applique and, until recently, FMQ. The applique quilt you showed at the end of this post is beautiful, too. Congratulations!

  7. Your quilt is wonderful! I love the blue and white. It’s just looks so fresh. I love seeing your beautiful china. You just plain have wonderful taste.

  8. You have lovely dishes. Congrats on being published. I saw that quilt in the magazine and fell in love with it. I have come up with the idea to make a table runner with the blocks for a friend. Im in the process of picking out fabrics for it. Thanks so much for sharing.

  9. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown #5: Geometry! « Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown: FINAL! « Ivory Spring

  11. Pingback: Winter Blues: Sneak Peeks | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

