Added 8/16/2012 – I am trying out this “Reblog” feature on WordPress.  So, things might look a bit crazy on the layout.  Anyway, the idea of school hit closer to home at the Ivory Spring household this week as I enrolled Miss Baby is a psedu-pre-school prep class to help her get used to learning with other children. I thought I will repost my “Teacher’s Welcome” quilt since it’s that time of the year for my quilting buddies that are in the education sector! I have now officially started my other job – a taxi driver for Miss Baby, and let me tell you, it’s tiring!

Ivory Spring

Good day, Friends!  Summer often gives way to preparation for a new school year – teachers and parents alike.   I thought you might like my “blackboard” quilt “Teacher’s Welcome” that is featured in the August 2010 issue of Quilter’s World:

The sample quilt has “WELCOME” appliqued on the blackboard, but you may choose to applique any words you might like to suit your classroom purposes – names of your students, class motto etc.

Here are pictures that show the quilting on the quilt:

To make it more school-lish, I quilted cursive abc’s along the sashings:

The fabrics are from “Heritage Prints”, “Flower Mart III”, and “Fossil Fern” by Benartex:


Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you have a great rest of the summer!  I am off to quilting my Christmas Whirligigs Quilt – more pictures later!

View original post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 thoughts on “

  1. I’ve seen the Reblogging feature but didn’t know exactly what it meant. Now I know! Thanks! I have reported old posts just by copying and pasting but this looks easier.

    Yes, I use to call those the “taxi years” when you seem to spend a lot of time in the car taking kids places.

  2. Should be “Teachers Welcome….” not “Teacher’s Welcome…” It’s meant to be plural of “teacher,” not that the “welcome” belongs to one teacher.

    Thank you.

    Linda

Leave a Reply

