Quilts from Storage at DAR Museum, Part 3

I was struck by the beauty of this log cabin quilt when I was at DAR for their Quilts from Storage program.  I shall let the next few photos do the talking.  The colors, as well as the workmanship, are simply exceptional!  You may read the specifics on this quilt here.

[Image source: www.quiltindex.org]

I was thrilled and impressed by the fact that the vibrant colors of the fabric actually preserved through the years, considering the fact the quilt dates back to the late 19th century.

I don’t believe the quiltmaker was identified.  The textile curator at DAR shared that something like this quilt was likely used as a parlor decorative piece due to the fact that the quilt was made with silk and velvet.  That made sense to me considering the tassels added to the corners of the quilt.

I really admire the quiltmaker for her brilliant sense of colors, creativity in using braided cording and tassels to finish the quilt!

Now, I would like to know if you have used exotic fabrics other than cotton to construct a quilt.  I am generally a 100% person.  I have used a cotton/silk blend a little in the past.  But after seeing this DAR Log Cabin quilt, I am wondering just what exotic fabrics quilters might sometimes use for their quilts.  One more thing, have you ever added braided cords to finish your quilts?

Thanks for stopping by!  I need to run – Miss Baby is being too quiet in another room.  I need to go investigate. :)

p.s.  Click here, and here for my previous DAR quilt posts.

16 thoughts on “Quilts from Storage at DAR Museum, Part 3

  1. that is really an OMG quilt. who woul dhave thought to use tassels and that Braiding!!!!! I do not have it any more. But I remember a ‘crazy’ quilt that we had as kids i know there was wool, and at one time velvet. but my memories are very vague.

  2. I was urged to check out the quilts at the DAR musuem once and have been recommending it ever since. I need to get back to DC sometime soon.

  3. Who would have thought that quilt was 19th century with the bright colors and totally modern look – well, maybe not the tassels – that is so typically Victorian! Spectacular quilt, thanks for sharing it with us!

  4. What size are the blocks and logs in that quilt??? The colors almost glow and definitely reflect a rainbow!! It is certainly remarkable that it has withstood the passage of years with such vibrancy!!

  5. Those logs look narrow ~ such a beautiful quilt. I lost a Brother in law a couple years ago and I used his silk ties and made a couple pillows for my sister. She treasures them, it is a nice memory holder for her. I also used a corded edge and tassles. It was very difficult to sew on silk!! I love cotton more now!!

  6. Wow….that is a beautiful piece. The color placement is just incredible and I do like the braid and fringe on it. I have used silks in the past, but not for anything that would get a lot of use!!

  7. Too quiet? Uh oh… When my sons were little like your Miss Baby, they were “too quiet” with their coloring pages while my friend and I were engrossed in conversation. When WE investigated, we discovered a bemused baby whose face, belly, and arms had been decorated with marker by his older brother. Thank goodness it was Crayola washable marker and not Sharpie!

  8. The braiding around the edge is beautiful! I was amazed and have never seen a quilt done like that before. Gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

  9. Truly a beautiful quilt! Cannot believe it is late 19th C. either. It is just so “modern” and alive. Love the finish.
    Personally, I have never used braid to finish, but I do put tassles onto the quilts that we use for church banners. They add a very formal finish. thanks for sharing. And, my guess is that Miss Baby was in the kitchen cupboards. When my grandchildren are suddenly quiet, the kitchen is the first place I check!
    donna j from Kansas

  10. What a beautiful quilt. When my family and I lived in Korea, I had a chance to learn pojagi – traditional Korean patchwork. It is often made with different kinds of silk and is very beautiful.

  11. Pingback: Quilts from Storage at DAR Museum, Part 4 « Ivory Spring

  12. Pingback: Color Burst in QUILT (June/July 2013) | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

