Embroidered Project: Sneak Peek

Happy Monday, dear Friends!  I hope you are doing well.  Despite the busy-ness, our little family did get out and about and walked around the city for an afternoon!  It was most fun – it was wonderful to clear my mind of work for a few hours.  Nonetheless, I worked hard over the weekend to finish up an embroidered project.  If everything goes well, you will see the project featured in a magazine sometime next year.  Here is a sneak peek:

It was nice to work on a hand stitching project.  I love to stitch by hand.  The stitches aren’t always perfect,but they do take on such an “organic” look!

Curious mind wants to know:  Do you quilt AND embroider?  I would love to know.

Have a great week ahead.  I will be very scarce for the rest of the week.  But hopefully, I will be able to tell you more about my “scarcity” not too long from now.  Take care!

25 thoughts on “Embroidered Project: Sneak Peek

  1. Yes I do both. And I think that the slightly uneven not perfect stitches are what make the project so wonderful.

  2. Yes I do. And I like you, totally enjoy the hand embroidery. I am “relearning” to hand embroider though!! But I’ve been enjoying it. Good Luck with yours.

  3. I’ve done alot of quilting and embroidery but mostly by machine nowadays. When my kids were younger it was only by hand but now that they have flown the nest I purchased an embroidery machine and just love combining the two.

  4. I love hand work while watching tv in the evening so I do a lot of embroidery on my quilts. Currently I am working on blocks of black work to add to a quilt to teach students about how quilts were used to signal slaves during the underground railroad years. My only problem is I don’t know how to quilt the squares that are embroidered. They are scenes of slaves working in the fields, their slave quarters etc. Thank you for showing us your beautiful quilts and especially your tutorials.

  5. Quilting and embroidery go together like peanut butter and jelly for me!-) Seeing your name/quilts in the magazines I get makes me feel so good—-“I know that gal”!! The feeling of a ‘personal connection’ is what makes that and all our blogging so special AND important!! Continuing in prayer…….Blessings, D

  6. I love buttonholing wool on cotton or wool on wool and adding other embroidery stitches for effect. I have always liked fine needle turn applique for handwork until I discovered WOOL!! Now for handwork, it’s wool work almost exclusively.

  7. I, too, LOVE to do hand work! As much as I enjoy machine piecing and embroidery, I tend to return to my roots and go back to smocking and embroidery–and now applique for my quilts! It’s therapy to me! Your work is gorgeous and you are such an inspiration with all that you accomplish. I especially appreciate your witness that you so freely share!

  8. Yes I do both. Right now I’m trying to get both of my grandsons new counted cross stitch stocking done before Christmas. I’ve finished the handwork on one, now it’s on to the next one. I also enjoy redwork. It’s nice to have something to keep me busy while I’m watching TV. Your embroidery is beautiful and your smocking to die for. Can’t wait to see the whole project!

  9. I always combine piecing and hand embroidery….and I call it an art piece! No problem. Often I will embroider through the batting and backing as well, resulting in interesting patterns on the back as well.

  10. Wendy, I do it all! Sometimes machine and sometimes hand work. Just whatever I am in the mood for. I do keep several projects going on at the same time so I can do machine work during the day and hand work in the evening while I watch TV with my DH or while we are traveling. As with your quilting, you do lovely hand needle work. Perfection in both.
    And I love to read all the comments and questions posed on your comment feed at the end of your articles. I, too, am curious about what people are working on around the country and world in some cases.

    As to Barbara’s question above, I use crosshatching over my embroidery work. But have seen some who only crosshatch up to the embroidered images, then quilt around the scene and inside the scene to help highlight it. It would depend on your personal preference. Barbara, you sound like you are making a wonderful project, one I haven’t seen before. Good for you!

  11. Yes, I love to do hand and machine embroidery along with quilting. Hand work is relaxing and I can pick it up /put it down whenever I need to. {also love to garden and go antiquing}

  12. Yep! I like incorporating hand or machine embroidery in my quilts. I’m trying to incorporate my needlework into wallhangings.

  13. Yep! Me too! I love to hand embroider and then turn the pieces into some sort of quilt. I have two more blocks to embroider in a snowman alphabet and then they will become a big quilt. After that I’ll have to scrounge up another embroidery project to keep me going. Hope everything in your busy week falls easily into place.

  14. Intriguing! I don’t quilt — I just admire yours. :-) But I do embroider, mostly cross stitch. I have a couple of projects I want to get going on — starting is the hardest thing!

  15. Yes, sometimes I do add a little embroidery, to a quilt, and I totally enjoy the handwork. Sometimes, I wonder why I don’t do it more often?

Leave a Reply

