Water Mountains!

Miss Baby has recently developed a fascination for water fountains which she calls “water mountains”.  So, we will stop and admire just about any water mountain we encounter when we are out and about.  These shots were taken last week.

I can’t help but pray for Miss Baby with the words of “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” whenever I see Miss Baby enjoying herself with the water mountains.

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise.
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of Thy redeeming love.
[stanza 1]

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.
[stanza 4]

by Robert Robinson, 1757

Thanks for stopping by, and sharing a “Mom moment” with me!  I hope you have a blessed day.

p.s.  If all things go well, I hope to show you another magazine featured project.  The photography will require props.  That’s why it’s taken me forever to find time to photograph project due to work and Miss Baby.

25 thoughts on “Water Mountains!

  1. Thanks for sharing this lovely moment with Miss Baby. It’s a blessing to have a little person around to remind us how important the small things in life really are.

  2. She is the apple of your eye I can tell. I know you feel blessed to have such a great family full of Faith, Love and Hope. Not to mention the talent you have. I feel blessed to be able to see all your creativity, as a Mom and a Quilter.
    Bunny

  3. Such a beautiful age, so full of trust, honesty ,and innocence. Enjoy every precious moment. Thanks for sharing. It’s nice to quilt and smile!!!

  4. Sweet pictures, sweet memories! My GK’s love the fountains! We can’t go into the mall without putting a few pennies into the wishing well fountain. All three, that has been a favorite, the next stop is the ice skating rink. The oldest one, I kept her while her mommy worked, she went every where with me. Even the ladies meetings at church, they didn’t have a nursery because it was mostly older ladies; so she learned to play and be a good girl! She had so many “grandmothers” but she was cute and a sweet baby so they couldn’t help it. Even Nonnie has her memories!!!

  5. Wendy, thank you for sharing your ‘Mom moment’…. makes me wish that I had taken more pictures of my kids as they grew up. Oh well, the memories will always be with me lol the good and the bad.
    Can’t wait to see what else you have been up to… I have been following along and I am always inspired!

  6. She really is so sweet, and I am sure she will have fond memories of looking at all the fountains when she sees these pictures when she is older. Enjoy! A very wise man told me that the days may seem long, but the years are so short.

  7. What a beautiful little girl!! You have truly been blessed and she looks so happy and delighted with the “mountains” Thank you for sharing her with us and the beautiful hyme.

  8. I had to comment about the water mountains…my kids had a way of not always not getting it quite right too. For Pinatas they called it picatas and for hand me downs they were handy downs. The list goes on. You will forever call them water mountains now!

  9. Love the pics of Ms. Baby and her ‘water mountains’! just adorable. You surely are a wonderful mom with a heart for God. I love your stories of motherhood as much as what I learn from your quilts.

  10. So sweet! I wish I had written down things like that that my kids said when they were little.

    Love the hymn. I hope and pray, too, she comes to that fount of every blessing.

  11. Okay, Miss Wendy — I think you need to start thinking about a Water Mountains quilt. What would that look like? And how would you quilt it? :-)

    I love that outfit with the purple pants and lavendar Mary Jane sneakers in the first photo of Miss Baby. That’s my favorite kind of outfit for little girls — feminine and retro-inspired, but totally comfortable and practical for running and playing and exploring the world around her. Did you make the pretty floral top?

  12. Thanks for such sharing – when we pass water, I’m usually trying to keep my son from appreciating it too up close & personal (yes, jumping right in if he’s faster than me). I need to remember to allow us to wonder. That hymn is a favorite and will be on my heart all day. I agree that I’d love to see you quilt Water Mountains.

  13. She’s a doll. What a sweet memory you’ll always have, of water mountains. I hope you’re keeping track of all these special sayings, comments and conversations. They’re the stuff to reflect on when she’s grown up.

Leave a Reply

