A Sprinkle of Spring in FONS and PORTER’S LOVE OF QUILTING (May/June 2012)

Have you seen my “A Sprinkle of Spring” quilt featured as a bonus pattern in the May/June 2012 issue of Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting?  “A Sprinkle of Spring” quilt is my tribute to my all you quilters that also garden!  The pattern is offered right now as a free pattern at Fons and Porter‘s website, but you would have to sign in in order to access the pattern.

In the picture below, you see the light shining through the back of the quilt.  That hint of yellow shows the bright yellow fabric I used as the quilt backing.

It is a pieced and applique quilt.  Applique method was machine fusible.  I used Steam-a-Seam2 by Warm Company for the fusible web.  The watering cans are what I love best about this quilt.

A closer look shows the watering cans doing what they are supposed to do – watering. :)

The quilt is made using RJR‘s Garden Frolic fabrics.

You may recall I have another quilt, What’s the Buzz, that was made with fabrics from the same collection.

Here you can see up-close the buttonhole stitches in a contrasting thread (for visual purposes) I did on the appliqued flowers.  You may click here and here to read a bit more about how I do my fusible machine applique.

Quilting was lighthearted!  I almost exclusively use Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads to quilt my quilts these days, over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting because the combination just works so well for me.

Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you have liked “A Sprinkle of Spring”! :)  That’s it for now.

24 thoughts on “A Sprinkle of Spring in FONS and PORTER’S LOVE OF QUILTING (May/June 2012)

  1. I love this quilt…………another one to go on to do list….whew…..

    want to look for fabric soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so a cheerful and happy quilt!!!!

  2. How pretty your quilting is, once again. What an adorable quilt. How cool that it’s in the current “Love of Quilting”! A quilt I quilted is in the current issue of Fons & Porter’s “Scrap Quilts”! I’m knuckle-fisting you!

  3. Help! Wendy, can you tell us how to find it when we get logged in at F&P? I tried but can’t find it……seem to usually have trouble finding things on their site. Love their mag and have subbed for years but the site is a problem. Thanks!!

  4. Your watering cans are adorable; especially with the hand-stitched water sprinkling out of them. I never would have thought of black fabric for a Spring themed quilt, but it’s perfect. It kind of gives me a Mary Engelbreit vibe. Very cheerful!

    Binding question: How wide is your red binding? How come it doesn’t cover any part of the blocks along the edges of the quilt? Do you attach an outer border to your quilt top the width you plan for your binding to be, so only the border gets hidden and covered? I have only ever done 1/4″ bindings and have always wondered how to do a wider one without “losing” the outer edges of the quilt top.

  5. THis is perfect! I’m going to download it to make for my Mother In Law who is a quilter who also gardens. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Hi Wendy! Oh how fabulous! I missed being able to write you a note on your post “What’s the Buzz”, but I LOVE what you did with my fabric collection from RJR :) and this one is equally adorable! Love love love the little watering cans :) My love of gardening prompted parts of this collection. Rose, hydrangeas, daisies and lilies are amongst my favorite flowers!

    Thank you so much for the beautiful work you have done!

  7. I have entered my e-mail address. I am attempting to access the bonus quilt pattern “A Sprinkle of Spring” and am unable to do it. Help, please. Thanks

Leave a Reply

