Public Announcement: Kits to go with my free patterns

Hello Friends,

I just found this out myself, but I thought you might be interested to know just in case…

Hancock’s of Paducah is kitting a few of my patterns.  Currently these are what’s available for pre-order.

1.  Busy Town A to Z Quilt.  Click here to order kit. Click here for the free pattern.

2.  Holiday Cheer.  Click here to order kit.  Click here for the free pattern.

Now, onto a totally different subject of lemon loaf.  I baked a lemon loaf (bread) over the weekend, and was a bit disappointed on how it turned out.  The flavor was a bit lacking in the lemon department in the actual bread, and the bread turned out crumbly.  What gives?  Do you have a tried and true you might share with me?  I am not passionate about cooking (give me a book, a needle and some thread – that’s when I am the happiest), but do insist on home-made food for my family.  So, it makes it quite frustrating to have something not turn out good when I do spend the time cooking.  Enough of my whining!  I am off to the better things life has to offer — cleaning the kitchen, hahaha! :)

That’s all for now.  Hugs to you all.

9 thoughts on “Public Announcement: Kits to go with my free patterns

  1. Wendy, do you think you would like a lemon poppy seed bread recipe? I have a recipe that I’ve used for years and have had lots of compliments about it. When my daughter’s elementary school had its bake sale, the bread was one of few things that sold out in the first hour or so of the sale! It is a very moist and flavorful bread.

  2. So thrilled to hear about the kits!!! They are both so unique and cute!!! I knew they would be a hit when you first posted them. So sorry about the baking attempt! Can be frustrating especially if it’s something you wanted to do for the family but isn’t highest on your ‘fave’ list. This recipe (see link) is like the one I have used over the years. Don’t know how it compares to the one you used. http://www.mennonitegirlscancook.ca/2011/03/lemon-loaves.html I add blueberries (if frozen don’t defrost) to mine. Hugs, D

  3. Don’t have recipe for lemon bread but have a great one for oatmeal bread and a few for apple bread that my family likes. Let me know if you are interested.

  4. Mmm I’m not sure what the problem could have been? I’m not the smartest cook in the kitchen, but I get by. I have a nice soup recipe over at my blog you might like to try for your family.

  5. Hello.
    If that is a yeast dough bread, then the problem was probably not enough liquid.Each batch of flour is different and needs more or less water – it took me years to discover this!

    To enhance the lemon-ness of lemon cakes etc, I use Boyjian Lemon Oil which I discovered when visiting Calfornia and now buy on-line.

    Thank you for the free pattern, particularly the Christmas one.

  6. Try this lemon cake – it’s dead easy (seriously, about 5-10 minutes to prepare) and it lasts really well. My little guys love a slice in their lunches.

    1 c flour
    1/2 c butter
    3/4 c brown sugar
    juice of 1/2 lemon, plus rind
    1 tspn baking powder
    2 tspn caraway seeds (optn)
    pinch nutmeg
    2/3 c milk
    1 egg

    Glaze
    1 cup icing sugar
    juice 1/2 lemon

    Rub butter into flour until mixture looks like breadcrumbs. Stir in brown sugar
    Grate rind of half a lemon. Add with juice, baking power, caraway seeds and nutmeg.
    Lightly beat egg into milk and stir into dry mixture.
    Grease and flour and 8″ pan. Bake 30-40 minutes in 350 oven.
    When cool, pour icing glaze over top.

Leave a Reply

