Solace in QUILT TRENDS (Spring 2012)

Happy Monday, Friends!  I hope you had a good weekend.   Mine was full as usual.  In addition to work and church, we took Miss Baby out to watch a dragon boat race in the area.

Keeping with the Oriental theme, I am happy to be able to finally show you my Oriental-themed quilt, “Solace”,  featured in the latest issue (Spring 2012) of Quilt Trends.

This quilt uses fabrics from Blank Quilting‘s Asian Mist collection.

The Drunkard’s Path blocks are meant to imitate Oriental Fans.  The quarter circles are actually appliqued onto the background fabric instead of curve-pieced.

The center block is a customized embroidered/applique block that shows a crane flying over Oriental rendition of waves. The wave embroidery is inspired by the wave design on one of the fabric prints.

A side note on cranes: Cranes (including the red-crowned cranes) are quite the celebrity birds in Japan, making their appearances in many aspects of Japanese culture.  Their mating habit of only having one partner for life is the reason for the cranes being symbolic of unity in marriage.   Artistic renditions of cranes are often seen on a bride’s obi or kimono patterns.  The legend that cranes live for a thousand years also makes the cranes to symbolize health and longevity in the Oriental culture.  How interesting!

Quilting was done with Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

Here is a shot of the back.  All feathers you see are unmarked, and free-handed.

I hope you have enjoyed my Solace quilt.  Thanks for stopping by, and I wish you all a blessed week!

24 thoughts on “Solace in QUILT TRENDS (Spring 2012)

  1. That is the epitome of elegance!! The wave quilting blocks have a “sashiko” feel to them and the delicacy of the feather quilting sets off/compliments the fabric motifs. In short: I love it and shows, once again, how your creative gifts “marry” beautifully with such gorgeous textiles. For some reason this quilt really has a huge impact on me (can you tell?!?). Blessings, D

  2. I don’t get out enought…grin. I’ve never heard of a dragon boat race.

    Your quilt and quilting is gorgeous.

  3. I love this Asian quilt design you did. The colors are beautiful and I enjoyed the story of the crane-which I did not know. Thanks so much for the story behind the quilt.

  4. I love the colors and the quilting. Was the curved piecing difficult to do?
    The feather quilting is just lovely. I did not know the stories about cranes. Thank you for the pictures. They are always inspiring.

  5. What a fun time watching the Dragon Races. I count myself lucky to have been able to watch Dragon Races in Hong Kong, Singapore, and Victoria BC. Always fun and colorful too!

    The Dragon Boat Race was a perfect segway to your beautiful quilt. Fun design, delightful fabrics, spectacular quilting. Love it.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  6. wow, your quilt is fantastic. I love the asian theme and the many different quilting within.
    quilting dash lady at comcast dot net

  7. WOW. This is so incredible, Wendy! Once again, your quilting really pushes it over the edge. I would never have thought of feathers if I was deciding how to quilt this piece but I LOVE them. The effect is almost like more crashing waves. I love seeing what you do with your quilts.

  8. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown #5: Geometry! « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Thread Talk from My Sewing Machine #51 / Virtual Trunk Show #11 | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

