Braided Blessings: Sneak Peek #1

Hello Friends,

I have been nine-patching in my latest quilt project.  Those nine-patch individual squares finish at 1″.

I felt like I was finally ready to do another nine-patch quilt after almost four years.  The last time I did an intense round of ine-patching was when I made Pieceful Garden!  I love the quilt, but there were times I thought I was going insane making those nine-patches with the individual squares also finish at 1″!!! I mean I love the effect of nine-patches in a quilt, but after making the n-th nine-patch block to go in a quilt, I start feeling a bit edgy.

So, curious mind wants to know how you feel about nine-patches — do you make them often, or are you kind of like me having a love/hate relationship with them?  Thanks for stopping by.  I look forward to hearing from you!

 

27 thoughts on “Braided Blessings: Sneak Peek #1

  1. The only time I made a nine-patch was with Christmas fabric using 4 1/2″ squares….then, I cut it up and created a “disappearing nine-patch” quilt. It actually is very pretty and fits on the back of my antique living room sofa. It also is a good size to use as a table topper for my dining room table.

  2. Peaceful Garden is beautiful and quilting is exquisite!!
    But, I actually LOVE doing nine-patches. Although I don’t do the with individual squares, I use strip-piecing – they come out quick, are very accurate almost regardless the size (of course little ones require a bit more patience). Strip piecing works really well for me (and my students) – I am wondering, do you have a specific reason why you do individual squares? (unless quilt is totally scrappy of course)
    Block you are working on now looks very interesting too! I have lots of designs with nine-patches, rail-fence blocks and their derivatives – simple blocks that can make stunning quilts! :)

  3. I do love nine patches, but whenever I can work it out, I try to make them first by cutting strips and sewing together and then cutting. Eleanor Burns is the queen of using that method, and even if a pattern does not call for it, I try to make it work. I don’t think my blocks would turn out very square if I had to cut each block individually.

  4. I love the look of scrappy nine patch quilts, quick strip piecing and it’s done. Love your Peaceful Garden quilt, colours and quilting.

  5. I love 9 patches; any size. I have 2 I am working on now. One has 1 inch finished squares, the other is 1/2 inch finished squares.
    So far I’m not burned out. *wink*

  6. I personally have enough problems getting projects done without having to have tiny 9-patches! A couple of years ago, I let someone talk me into making a quilt for my mother with 1″ 9 patches. Well, you guessed it! It isn’t any further done now than it was then. I HATE doing tiny, fussy, piecing. But that’s just me. I did the one for my son and daughter-in-law that had some in it but it was not all 9 patches. That took me two years! LOL So, I guess you wouldn’t want to task me to do tiny 9 patches.

  7. HI this Quilt looks wonderful however I agree with the lady above me, I would much rather have the 5 -6 inch sq. size, then the 1 ” size, I am getting to the point that the larger squares are much more acceptable to make a quilt with. but yours is lovely, take care, HUGS Angeljeanne (jeanne) xox

  8. Wendy, the blocks look wonderful! I honestly can’t really say that I have ever really done much with 9 patches. Chances are that I have probably done them but just don’t remember lol,

  9. Love 9-patches but haven’t done one in quite a while! Made them with the strips method as some above have commented. Love the way the floral squares ‘play’ with the 9-patches!! And those feathers fill the spaces so perfectly without taking away from the piecing pattern. You have the ‘perfect eye’……Blessings and hugs, D

  10. Hi Wendy, I love your 9 patches. Wow 1″ finished. That’s tiny. My first quilt was a 9 patch. It was a wall hanging and it won a blue ribbon! But I think that was more the person who entered it, than the beauty of the quilt. Anyways, since, I have done a few. I like them. I strip piece them, and I haven’t done enough of them to have a “hate” relationship. I have done 2″ squares, but not in a nine patch pattern. They just about drove me crazy. http://bit.ly/JhB2r4 takes you to a picture of it. sorry don’t know how to make it a link. Happy Quilting:)

  11. Believe it or not, I’ve never done a nine-patch. They seem so boring to me but can create such gorgeous quilts. I love your colors in the new one.

  12. The second quilt I ever made was a 9-patch with tiny HSTs in the border. I don’t remember if I did it with strips or not. I don’t mind lots of piecing to get the quilt top done; I enjoy it and once I get to the “nth” block where it’s monotonous, my mind can wander off to all the things I otherwise never have time to think about. Of course, if I had your amazing quilting skills, I’m sure I would feel more impatient about getting the top done so I could start in on the quilting!

    By the way, I love the way you combined quilting motifs in your Pieceful Gardens quilt.

  13. Oooooo! I love the green, brown, and orange combination. Can’t wait to see the finished product. I personally love doing nine patches. I use the strip piecing method and if it needs to be real scrappy I just use shorter strips.

  14. I haven’t made a nine patch in awhile. But I do love them. There’s something beautiful about their simplicity. Of course, none of mine are as beautiful as Pieceful Garden. Your quilts are truly inspiring!!

  15. I love your Braided Blessing blocks and can’t wait to see the quilt. I haven’t worked with nine patches for a while, but I’ve always enjoyed making them in the past. Maybe it’s time to revisit the block!

  16. Your Braided Blessing looks like it will be spectacular..love the colours. I made a nine patch last fall, currently working on a double pinwheel as well as a bowtie. Traqditional Quilts with multiple piecing of little squares or triangles are my favorite.

  17. HI, I just now saw and remembered that I did not comment on the plant you have there next to the Quilt, it is called “Purple passion” yes it grows like a vine and it can grow very thick and long and it is a lovely plant, seeing yours I just have to go get another one, yours lovely, take care HUGS and Cheers angeljeanne (Jeanne) xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

