Sausalito New York Beauties: Sneak Peek #1

Hello Friends,  Happy Monday to you!

We made a rather last minute family trip to meet up with some family.  The kids (only one shown in the picture) had a grand time.

I thought I was going to be able to catch up on my email, but the internet was down where we stayed.  I was forced to unplug for a few days — which was probably a good thing! :)  Despite the fun, I couldn’t help worrying about my next project at times — because it involves making New York Beauties — something I have never done in my life.  I had no choice but to hunker down and made myself work on these blocks after we got home.  To my pleasant surprise, these blocks aren’t as daunting as they look, and I am having the time of my life working on them!!!

This is going to be a bold and loud quilt! Stay tuned for more pictures, and special announcements related to this quilt!

That’s all for now.  Miss Baby is napping – my golden opportunity to get unpacked, and maybe squeeze another Beauty block. :)

17 thoughts on “Sausalito New York Beauties: Sneak Peek #1

  1. What beautiful colors! I love this! Please let me know what fabrics you are using- I want some! I would never be able to do as beautiful a job and as intricate but it is sure a happy mood altering fabric!!!!

  2. Hi Wendy!
    I love New York Beauties! If I may be so bold, perhaps you might want to check out Inklingo…. Linda has just come out with 2 new NYB collections. I am going to be getting these so that I can take them on the road with me. Just thought you may want to see another method of construction :-)
    I love the colours you are using too! Enjoy!

  3. I want want need the beach!!!! So envious of your pics, lol. This NYB looks amazing Wendy, this will probably be my favorite of all of yours so far!

  4. Oh I love orange!!!! I’ve never done a New York Beauty either. Your block is beautiful!!!! Can’t wait to see more. Thank you for sharing this.

  5. I love love LOVE NYBs! I cannot wait to make one myself. I was going to do a black, white, and red one, but after seeing this I may just have to make a really really colorful one! Now I’m even more excited! Thank you :)

  6. You’re right – that’s bold! We went to the beach this weekend, too, and it was quite relaxing. Nothin’ like the sun & sound of the surf to make everything all better!

    Are you paper piecing your blocks?? The one you show really is pretty!

  7. Oh the Beach how I miss it all, the surfing I use to do, oh my, well this is not talking about fabric now is it?! oh well I like the bright colors also I guess what ever you pick I am not fussy, have a wonderful day by the ocean FUN times,,Cheers Jeanne xox

  8. Beautiful beach pics! Have not done any NYB patterns…..paper piecing is the only way I have seen them done and I’m not real ‘gung ho’ for that technique! Those colors are a knockout!!!!!

  9. I had always been terrified if the NYB blocks too until I tried them. They are so much easier than they look. Yours are gorgeous.

    Sometimes it is nice to unplug and enjoy the time without the technology. It looks like you had great family time.

  10. What a sweet shot. I’m glad you had some down time with the family. As to your pieced block, wow! It’s definitely a beauty ~
    :-}pokey

  11. Looks like someone is having fun building sand castles! I love New York Beauty blocks. I am working on a Montana Cartwheel, which is just New York Beauties doing cartwheels!

Leave a Reply

