Autumn Mosaic Stars: Final Sneak Peeks

Hello Friends,  Happy Monday. First of all, I want to thank all of you who prayed for me.  I was able to carry on with my work despite being quite sick.  In fact, I pulled a couple or three all-nighters to get Autumn Mosaic Stars completed!  The all-nighters, if nothing else, reminded me of my college days.

Carrying on the blue in the fall palette concept…

you see the center of the quilt with a variegated blue thread on the back of the quilt.  I can’t quite show you the front of the quilt until it is officially featured, but I don’t mind showing a snippet of the back… because the back looks nothing like what it does on the front.  You can see the seam where I hadn’t cut off the selvage — urgh, I wish I had now.  But I thought I was going to save just a bit of time because I was running so late, and I was so sick when I worked on the backing.  All the feathers were free-handed.  The unscripted nature of things was sort of a pot-luck experience!

I had employed the same concept of quilting something where the back looks totally different from the front in my Sweet Bouquets quilt.   I gave myself the same challenge when it came time to quilt Autumn Mosaic Stars (not very smart when one was so sick and pressed for time, if you ask me), and I was forced to look beyond the block make-up in planning my quilting scheme.  While I can’t show you more of Autumn Mosaic Stars, you may certainly view more pictures of Sweet Bouquets here.

That’s all for now!  I have a house to clean, and errands to run in my post-all-nighters start of a new week.  Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “Autumn Mosaic Stars: Final Sneak Peeks

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better, but WOW — this is how you quilt when you’re violently ill and sleep-deprived? Can you please bottle whatever sickness you had and send it my way? Because I’m well-rested and in the peak of health, and even my straight lines with the walking foot are coming out so wobbly that it looks like I quilted them during an earthquake!

    I hope you had a blessed Easter with your family, despite the sickness and the deadline. Your quilt, as always, is divine.

  2. I hope you are able to rest and sleep and recuperate now! If I were sick and sleep-deprived, I wouldn’t be able to string a decent sentence together, much less do anything that required detail.

  3. It looks fabulous despite the selvedge. I hope you can pace your errands to keep you getting well & not tired out. But fabulous work, especially for being sick!

  4. Lovely quilting! An idea for the selvedge line… how about coloring it? You’ll never notice it then. Get better soon.

  5. Wow once again your quilting is amazing. Sick and sleep deprived, your work is still fantastic. Hope you are on a full recovery, and can pace yourself so there is more of a balance. Thanks for sharing your work

  6. Wendy–your work just amazes me. Glad you got done what you needed to. Please take a little time to just relax or maybe you’re like me. Quilting is relaxing :) Have a wonderful week!

  7. What you can do when you’re sick! It’s amazing. I should be sick so I could quilt that well! Those free motion feathers on Mosaic Stars… well, they’re incredible. Sorry you had to pull all-nighters. I hope you’re catching up on sleep now.

Leave a Reply

