Country Breeze in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2012)

Good day, Friends!  I hope all is well with you.  I want to thank you for all your kind comments on “Rod and Reel“.  Several of you wrote to tell me you will be making the quilt to honor family members who are/were avid fishermen!  I am immensely touched that you wrote and shared your about your family with me.  Please know that I will be praying for those in need from the emails you have sent.

Have you seen the latest Fons and Porter‘s EASY QUILTS issue on your local newsstands, or in your mailbox?  What did you think of the projects, including my “Country Breeze”?

[Photo courtesy Fons and Porter]

This quilt is a scrappy, and sort of pinwheel-y with a twist quilt.  It was super fun to make (and quick too!)

I used fabrics from Henry Glass‘ Brambleberries Collection (by Buggy Barn).

A scrappy quilt such as Country Breeze would only need quilting to add a bit of texture to the overall look.  So, I employed my favorite quilting motif: feathers!  Not really fancy feathers, just feathers bigger than my normal scale.  My feather plumes had to span a 6″ distance.  Lessons learned: Free-handing feathers that large on a domestic machine was not very fun.  Moral of the lesson:  Get a longarm!

Quilting was done with Aurifil‘s Mako 50 Cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batting – my absolute go-to combination.

Despite the “trials and tribulations” from having to stick with my decision to quilt feathers in larger scale, I have to say I am happy with the result.  You can see the back of the quilt in the following pictures:

Here is a picture showing the little extra something I added to the feather plume in the border.  But really, I mainly want to show  you that beautiful dark navy/black star fabric – isn’t that a gorgeous fabric?

The fabrics in this quilt are of a warmer palette, but I can also see it as an all-seasonal quilt.  What do you think?  Which room would you display this quilt, and how?

Thanks for stopping by.  I appreciate hearing from you.  I’ve got to fly for now to squeeze in a bit work before I have to stop to clean.  We are having wee company tomorrow.  Tootles!

25 thoughts on “Country Breeze in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2012)

  1. Living room for sure. Burgundy lazy boy, carmel walls, beige draperies, wallpaper with green, carmel, beige and burgundy. The blue would be a great accent color. Add a blue toss pillow and some blue accessories.
    Room complete and special!!!

  2. Just love your quilt and feathers look great. I can’t believe these are done on your domestic machine. Also, I am amazed at how much you get done! You impress me. Thanks for sharing with us.

  3. Those colours would match my couch perfectly!! So it would have to go in my living room. I love those feathers. They worked out well even though they are big. It probably takes more time to do them that big eh? That makes it harder when you have dead lines. Pretty none the less!

  4. Oh, I like the little curls on the feathers. What a nice touch. I am in awe of how many quilts you get done. Thanks for the pictures.

  5. Oh my look at all the stitching with those feathers. I would have passed out!
    Beautiful work Wendy. Enjoy your company!

  6. I love pinwheels but not alot of them, this is a perfect pattern! I don’t like when one block is too much of the focus, would rather see a design that works together like this one. Love the fabrics, too! Will be looking for the issue at the bookstore.

  7. Yes, I do think of pinwheels when I think of your quilts. You have such interesting variation. And I will clamor again for the Wendy quilting DVD to be made–just beautiful feathers !

  8. The next quilt up for me is a gift for DH’s cousin. I did a smaller wall quilt and post a bit of it here: http://treadlemusic.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/sunshine-grey-clouds-and-quilting/ It was a trial to see how the larger feathers would go. I agree, they do present a different challenge!! But I absolutely loved the process so am ready to do the large quilt with feathers a tad bit larger. My house won’t accommodate a longarm so I WILL master these on my lovely Juki2010TL! The Lord will have to provide the muscles/stamina to finish…..hehe! Your quilt is so lovely. I love pinwheels and the way you took it beyond the “same old” is so cool! Enjoy your guests!! Hugs, Doreen

  9. As always, a beautiful quilt and beautiful quilt stitching! I see this one as a family room quilt–elegant but fun too.

    I love seeing your work because you present real life inspiration about what can be done with a DSM. Your stitching stacks right up there with the best of the published longarmers so I (selfishly, I admit) hope you keep doing it just the way you’ve been doing it!

  10. Congrats, this is really a fantastic quilt. a lot of work went into this and it shows.
    I would surley put this in our front room, the colors are perfect.

  11. That gives a very clear idea of how you do the feather design. Do you keep stopping and having to finish the threads off when you do this? I can’t see how you keep it so neat because you do not seem to go over any lines twice. What do you do when you join up with another “feather” That’s where I get stuck. yours looks absolutely gorgeous.

  12. Definitely family room. Burgundy leather furniture, one wall purple, two paprika colored. Pale beige carpet and fireplace. Cozy room, very casual. Love your feathers – I want to learn how to do that on my home machine too!!!

  13. Congrats on your pattern being in the magazine!! I really like your pattern, and could see your quilt draped over the arm of the Lazy-Boy in the family room! And I adore your quilting – nice work!

  14. Pingback: Thoughts on scrappy quilts « Ivory Spring

  15. Pingback: Accuquilt Blogger Spotlight: Tango with HST’s « Ivory Spring

  16. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown #3: Comfort « Ivory Spring

  17. My eye kept returning to “Country Breeze” for 2 reasons. The fabric selection was great and the fluid flow of the quilting stitch.

  18. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown: FINAL! « Ivory Spring

  19. Pingback: A very special “I SPY” quilt! | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

