A Tale as Tall as Tree – Sneak Peek #1

Hello Friends, I hope you are having a lovely day.  My work progress this week is a little slow – it seems like I have just been bombarded with distractions this week.  I did start with another magazine quilt this week.  It’s going to be a lighthearted one, as you can see from the fabrics:

Since I am relatively new at quilting, I oftentimes have to experiment a bit when I work with blocks I have never made before.  I found that pressing the seams this way helps the “knot” of the bow tie to come out perfectly.  I am sure many of you already know this, but it was a light bulb moment for a newbie like me.

I took this picture for Bunny – now, just how am I supposed to use this ruler ever again besides peeling off those stickers?

What do you think – should I keep the ruler the way it is as a keepsake for remembering Miss Baby’s “sticker”phase of childhood and buy a new one, or should I peel off the stickers?

31 thoughts on “A Tale as Tall as Tree – Sneak Peek #1

  1. keep it as it is special xx

    Just started doing the backing for the quilt of my grand sons quilt I have not done this for years and am waiting on the postman for my quilting foot for my sewing machine to make it easier !

  2. Oh heavens yes keep it Baby is only baby now don’t let this pass and Baby is all grown up, into a young lady, oh dear how fast they grow,,take care HUGS Jeanne xox

  3. I would leave the ruler as it is….precious. Buy a new one for you to use.
    Yes, having apposing seams is a must when sewing one block to another.

  4. Just love the fabric on the blocks. Keep the ruler as is! Just make sure she knows not to put the stickers on the wooden doors in the house. I am still peeling some off and my “baby” is 21!

  5. LOL well since she wants to be like her Mommy you had better get one exactly like yours so she can make patterns while you make patterns. That is too darn cute.. Love it
    Hugs Bunny

  6. Love your sneak peaks. So exciting.
    That ruler is pretty cool eh! You have such a mothers heart. She is doing what she sees you doing, creating! I know if one of my grandchildren did that i would have to get another ruler.

    Waiting to see what your new quilt looks like!

  7. The reason my adult daughters are teachers, is so they can still play with stickers! Just kidding but they do still use them on a daily basis. I’ll bet you have another one. You don’t really need it do you????

  8. You are a newbie? I would have never guess by the quilts you make.
    Lovely spring fabrics.
    those rulers aren’t cheap so I guess it depends on how much you use it whether you keep it or buy another.

  9. Love the bowtie block, you’re right. The left/right triangles seem to come forward and vertical ones seem to recede, like they would in a real bowtie. Can’t wait to see the whole quilt!
    I’d buy a new ruler and just tell Miss Baby stickers are not for everything! Our granddaughters are still going through the “sticker stage” and we had to explain that some things just don’t “need” stickers to be any prettier. The girls seem to really understand that and were more careful where they put the stickers. And I kept a good supply of construction paper around so they can still be creative!

  10. Leave them there by all means! Buy another one for a “using” ruler. They grow up SO quickly. I know it doesn’t seem that way now but my baby just turned 31 and has two babies of her own. I was their only nannny and now they’ve moved 1500 miles away. I treasure each scrap of paper that they used my decorative punches and made ‘pictures’ for me. If they could just come back I’d let them mix up all my carefully sorted buttons, even! I’ve had plenty of time to resort buttons since they’ve been gone. :(

  11. By all means buy a new ruler. When she wants to start quilting, you will have the ruler to show her how she was already labeling her stuff for the future. lol

  12. I know you are probably tempted to take the stickers off, but as someone who has been there, I’d probably keep it just as it is and put it somewhere I could see it. When my son was about 2 1/2, I was making dinner in the kitchen while he sat at the table quietly coloring. He had a huge pad of paper to use and seemed to be filling the pages. When I went over to the table to check a detail in my recipe, I saw that he had used his red crayon “to decorate” my page for me. He’s 26 now and every time I use Julia Child’s book to make a turkey, I smile and remember just how he looked that day.

  13. Buy a new ruler and keep this one with the Easter decorations to enjoy every years. I have a tub rubber ducky that I bring out each year. My baby is 33 years old now.

  14. Those are very interesting fabrics! I look forward to seeing what you do with them.

    RE the ruler — if you have plenty of Miss baby’s sticker creations, I’d say take them off the ruler. But if there is something particularly sentimental about them being on the ruler, or if you think it would be longer lasting than a book, then leave them and get another ruler. It might be fun for Miss Baby to have that ruler while you are using yours.

  15. hang that ruler up in your sewing room and smile every time you look at it! babies grow up WAY too fast… mine are 21 and 22 and i just can’t figure out how that happened… haha. buy a new ruler to use. so worth the few dollars.

Leave a Reply

