Sweet Bouquets in QUILTER’S WORLD (April 2012)

Dear Friends, I hope you are doing well.  The weather at my end of the world seems to be warming up, and we are quite excited about that!  The warm weather is just what we need to welcome in some sweet blossoms in real life.  That’s what I had in mind when I designed my Sweet Bouquets quilt for Quilter’s World‘s April 2012 issue.

[Image courtesy of http://www.quiltersworld.com]

I also unofficially named this quilt “Bright and Morning Star” because the fresh and soft color palette of the quilt reminds me of the hope I have in my Lord.

The quilt used fabrics from Eleanor Burn‘s Perennials II collection, released by Benartex.  I love the garden-feel of these fabrics.

Now to the quilting – I set out to challenge myself to quilt something that would look totally different on the back compared to the piecing scheme on the front.  Now, see if you know what I mean…  the stars on the front don’t really show up on the back.  Instead, a variation of pickle dish/orange peel quilting scheme does.

Again, quilting was done using Aurifil‘s Mako 50 Cotton over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batt.

What spring projects do you have on your plate this year?  Do share – I am anxious to know!  Thanks for stopping by.  I appreciate your visits, as always.  Till next time.

26 thoughts on “Sweet Bouquets in QUILTER’S WORLD (April 2012)

  1. Another beauitful quilt. I don’t have much violet lavender in my home, but I have always wanted a room with lavender and blue together. One friend years ago had that combination in her home, her clothes, everywhere, lol!

  2. Stunning as always.

    How do you do it?
    How do you quilt these gorgeous designs with perfection on a DSM all free hand and no marking.
    It is truly amazing.
    I have a difficult time just staying on the marked line of a simple heart shape.
    Please share your secret!

  3. Simply stunning! I adore feathers, and you quilt them so well! They always look beautiful on your quilts. Do you ever not quilt feathers? I’m FMQing a rather large quilt (85 X 95) and don’t want dense quilting. So, I’ve challenged myself to “keep it light” and “quilt without feathers.” Boy, is that ever challenging! I had no idea, until now, how often I turn to feathers for quilting.

  4. Oh Wendy that really is gorgeous – I love how the quilting looks on the back. You’re amazing! I have so many spring projects going in my mind it’s not funny, but only one being worked on, lol.

  5. Oh my goodness!!! I’ve never seen such gorgeous feathers and on such alarge scale. Did you mark that motif? It is gorgeous!! Absolutely gorgeous!

  6. WOW!! I can’t wait to see what you’ll come up with next. Your Morning Star quilt reminds me of Easter, the purple of Lent giving way to glorious sunshine and Easter lilies.

  7. Pingback: Autumn Mosaic Stars: Final Sneak Peeks « Ivory Spring

  8. Pingback: Mixing and Matching « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown #1: Sweet and Fresh « Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: A very special “I SPY” quilt! | Ivory Spring

  11. Beautiful quilt! I have the magazine and am sitting here trying to adjust this to a queen size. Could you possibly have this figured up already? I can do it but my brain hurts after a while! Thanks.

  12. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #13: Cut From The Same Cloth, Part I | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

