Blessing future generations…

…. through the things you make.

I came across a sweet story on how a family christening gown was passed down through the fourth generation, and was recently worn by their newest addition to the family.  Click here for the full story.  Below is a picture of the christening gown which has been worn 45 times to commemorate various births within that family.  Oh – my heart is full just thinking about the memories, the love, the joy, the hopes, the prayers and the praise associated with the birth of all those children.

[Photo from http://www.dailymail.co.uk]

In the Ivory Spring household, being the keeper and maker of heirloom things for the future generations is a big part of my mothering job.  I will outright admit to you I am certain I will never get the hip-pest Mom award anytime in my life, but I do hope and pray at the end of my life, I will be able to bequeath to my little one a few  heirloom-y “somethings” that will be bless generations to come. Below are pictures of Miss Baby’s dedication gown.  You can click here to read a previous post on this amazing creation (not by me):

Having a “long-term” perspective really gives meaning to the things I make for Miss Baby.  Mothers, grandmothers, aunts, sisters — just think of the multiple-fold blessings you bestow on your family when you give a handmade gift to a loved one in your family!  WOW!  So, get busy ladies! :)

17 thoughts on “Blessing future generations…

  1. So beautiful – we have nothing that belonged to past generations, other than a little playsuit that belonged to my husband as a child and both my boys wore.

  2. How wonderful for you to have such a treasure of a friend. I have made several heirlooms for my children and one of which is a First Communion dress, well each girl had their own to pass down. I made for each of my girls plus their wedding dresses also. Knitted several outfits that I still have to pass on. Several things have already been passed on to our grandchildren. It sure is a heartwarming feeling to see them enjoy your work. I just know that Miss Baby will always be comforted by your masterpieces.

  3. Those are so beautiful! Before I changed career paths (about 11 years ago) I had my own sewing business for many years doing bridal gowns and formal wear. The items I enjoyed most were those that I could use heirloom sewing techniques in the construction. The dedication/baptismal gowns were always the most special! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and may we all treasure those things that endure the passage of time and, hopefully, teach others to do the same. Hugs, Doreen

  4. My oldest granddaughter wore her mother’s family Christening gown. When my grandson was born I wanted to do something special for him so I made his Christening outfit complete with jacket and hat. His name, birth date and Christening date are embroidered inside the jacket. His brother wore the same outfit and I also added his information. Hopefully, the outfit will be worn by future generations.
    The dress you made for Miss Baby is exquisite and I am sure will be a treasured heirloom in years to come!

  5. That is just so beautiful Wendy. When my eldest son was born, my MIL gave me some fabric she had that she was going to make into a Christening gown. She never did get it made… There wasnt much fabric, but I did manage to make a gown out of it. Andew – Andrea’s father wore it at his Christening, and Andrea wore it for her Christening, in the hosp8ital with her mother. I so hope I find where I have put. it. Miss Baby’s I have admired since you first made it, and I am sure it will be passed down to your childrens children with great pride. :)

  6. It is really beautiful. I made our children’s christening gown and the grandchildren have also been christened in it. In fact it will again be used this Sunday for the newest grandson. I love the heirloom sewing too.

    I know that there will be many beauties that will be passed down from you and cherished for years to come.

  7. My MIL had a friend who was the current keeper of a christening gown that had been worn by every direct line descendant since 1703! Each child’s name and birth date was embroidered on the hem. There are so many names currently on the dress that the entire skirt is filled and the underslip is nearly covered. It is quite an honor and responsibility to be the “keeper” of the dress. It is truly a museum piece – completely hand embroidered and hand stitched. It would be wonderful if more families would keep such traditions.

  8. So beautiful! I was told just the other day that the prayers mum’s and gramma’s (of which i am both) are the most powerful of all. I believe that goes for the importance of the things we make for the ones we love. Dont you love the idea that women have be doing that for centuries, using what ever they had sometimes with little time or resources to create something special. You can some how feel a connection between us all, in every generation. Worth the time and effort eh!

  9. YES I can relate to seeing these, I had one that both of my son’s wore at the time of there Christening when it can time to turn it in I had both boys flip a coin and who ever had the best toss won, it went to my oldest and he just loved it. so I am happy to see these and also happy to hear more people are wanting to save with in the family, BRINGS joy to my heart. thank you for sharing. HUGS and Cheers Jeanne xox

Leave a Reply

