Happy Birthday, General Washington!

Happy Washington’s Birthday!  The General’s birthday is actually February 22, but the federal government remembers his birthday on the third Monday of February.  This would have been his 280th birthday!

I remember learning about Washington and the cherry tree story (though unsubstantiated) in my Civics textbook in first grade in southeast Asia.  That really made an impression on me.  Years later when I came to America, I took advantage of the opportunities available to me to learn and read about the man who left such a defining mark in human and America’s history.

I have yet to decide my favorite Washington quote, but the following always touches when I read it.

“By the all-powerful dispensations of Providence, I have been protected beyond all human probability and expectation; for I had four bullets through my coat, and two horses shot under me, yet escaped unhurt, altho’ death was levelling my companions on every side.

GEORGE WASHINGTON, letter to John A. Washington, Jul. 18, 1755

What is one thing memorable about General Washington to you?  Curious mind wants to know.  Do you have a favorite quote of his?

18 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, General Washington!

  1. Not so sure about a quote. Katie, a friend of mine and I are going to a special High Tea on George Washington’s actual birthday at the George Washington Inn. That should be fun…maybe there will be quotes and memorabilia there…

  2. Not so much a quote but after reading the book by David McCullough titled John Adams; did I learn what these men and sometimes their wives/families gave too this country. What they were willing to sacriface so that they would have freedom and so would we.

  3. The center medallion for the Patriots in Petticoats BOM I’m doing is for Martha Washington. The info that came with the instructions talked about how Martha would spend many of her winters with her husband at the troop’s encampments. Cities along her travel route would hold parties in her honor. While at the encampment she would entertain and look after the other officers’ wives. I thought that was quite remarkable considering she could have stayed at home and been comfortable and looked after, yet she wanted to be with her husband so much she was willing to take considerable risk to her own safety to be there for him.

  4. I don’t have a favorite quote, but I am respectful of what he did for our country. I find it interesting that you learned of him so early in life when in our country his birthday has turned into a “great shopping day”. Sad, isn’t it?

  5. Not so much a quote but I do remember how I felt visiting Mt. Vernon, sitting on the rocking chairs, touching the waters of the Patomac and the tree he planted. Most memorable was to see his final resting place.

  6. I hold the maxim no less applicable to public than to private affairs, that honesty is the best policy.

    GEORGE WASHINGTON, Farewell Address to the People of the United States

  7. There is a small book called The Bulletproof George Washington that you might enjoy. A remarkable leader of many remarkable people. I believe they were put in the time and place that they were for a divine purpose. Their actions truly changed the world.

  8. There are so many wonderful quotes but I think I like most that he lived his values so well while refraining from shallow shows of piety. You may be interested in the book ‘Inventing Wasington’. Note that the middle picture is a later fabrication. Washington was never seen kneeling to pray. He attended many synagogs and churches but never kneeled or accepted any sort of communion. Most telling was when he refused clergy as he neared death. He believed he would be judged based on how he lived and not on public show of piety.

  9. One year, I had the privilege and pleasure to chaperone a group of 5th grade students on their trip to Washington, DC. On the way back home, we stopped at Mt. Vernon. I highly recommend EVERY person visit this landmark. Washington’s working farm is not only beautiful, it also enables the visitor to get a real sense of how this country touched his heart to form a leader of patriots. My favorite Washington quote: “Worry is the interest paid by those who borrow trouble.”

    Enjoyed your post, Wendy. Thanks for sharing. Happy Monday! ☺

  10. I learned a lot from the David McCullough book and series, John Adams… but of course, all the fabulous paintings of him as a hero stand out, the ones you show here, Crossing the Potomac, etc…

  11. My memory is kinda silly, but I remember being on the set of “George Washingtion: The Miniseries” years ago. I’m thinking it was the fall of 1983. My mom’s folk dance group won the audition and taught the actors/actresses the dances for the ballrooms scenes. Being in 7th grade and being able to attend rehearsals and watch filming was extremely exciting. (My sister was 6 mos. and breastfeeding, so I was needed to babysit!) I loved all the fancy dresses! My sister even got to be in the movie, although you only see the top of her head!

  12. Pingback: Happy Birthday, General Washington! | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

