Winter Bouquet in THE QUILTER (December 2011/January 2012)


The editorial staff at The Quilter did a marvelous job with photographing my Winter Bouquet quilt for their December 2011/January 2012 issue.

[photo from http://www.thequiltermag.com]

While playing outside with Miss Baby, I sneaked in some time to do a photo shoot of the quilt in a more rustic setting… just because I was afraid I might not get another free moment as the day progressed.


This is a pieced and applique quilt using Blank Quilting’s Plum Rose collectiongloriously beauuuuuutiful fabrics!


I had a “now you see her, now you don’t” moment when I was snapping the pictures:


Quilting is a mix of pebbles and feathers using Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batting.


Applique was fusible machine applique. I used Warm Company‘s Steam-A-Seam2 for my fusible.

I can’t say enough how much I like the new “What’s on the Back” feature introduced in this latest issue of The Quilter – you will get to see the backs of the featured quilts. To me, it’s like sneaking a peek into a celebrity’s private life.


This tabletopper quilt is 44 1/2″ x 44 1/2″ finished. Kits are available from www.heartbeatquilts.com.

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you have enjoyed Winter Bouquet.

38 thoughts on “Winter Bouquet in THE QUILTER (December 2011/January 2012)

  1. It’s beautiful and I also love the ‘What’s on the back’ feature. That is so neat especially when we get to see a quilter’s beautiful work so much better…such as yours :)

  2. Honestly Wendy, it’s nothing new. Just too darned beautiful for words is all. Your quilting is amazing. So glad “The Quilter” decided to feature the back. Now that’s what REALLY shows off your quilting. Congratulations on another winner! You’re the tops!

  3. As always, your quilt is lovely. How do you keep up with all that is happening? There are so many of your quilts in magazines and I am sure you have a million and one other things going on, too!

  4. Love the mix of the pieced and appliqued blocks as well as the quilting. The two block patterns go perfectly together. Love the fabrics, too. Each one can sing on its own, but together they make a chorus!
    Miss Baby is so cute with the quilt.

  5. Hi Wendy,

    This is absolutely gorgeous. What an unusual block you’ve come up with too!!! I love it and will definately make this charming little quilt. Thank you for sharing your creativity.

  6. Lovely, lovely quilt–the colors, design, fabrics, and quilting are gorgeous. I actually stopped by your blog because google pointed me in your direction concerning the pomegranate block. Really like your version–entirely different colors than usual.
    best from Tunisia,
    nadia

  7. Pingback: Year in Review #1: The Quilter « Ivory Spring

  8. Pingback: A very special “I SPY” quilt! | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

