Reformation Day

Since I didn’t grow up in the States, October 31st holds different memories for me.  Growing up and attending church in a little corner in SE Asia, the last Sunday of October was always reserved for observing Reformation Day.  Martin Luther was commemorated for leaving his mark in the history of Christendom.

It was on October 31, 1517 Luther nailed his 95 Theses on the door of All Saints Church in Wittenburg, Germany.    It is reported that the original wooden doors were burned down in the 1700’s.  The present doors are bronze, bearing the theses in Latin.

I was hoping we would sing “A Mighty Fortress” at church yesterday, but we didn’t.  Nonetheless we will be doing a bit of Reformation Day observance in our house today – bringing in a bit of my heritage.  Blessings to you all – I hope you have a lovely week!

34 thoughts on “Reformation Day

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I did not know there was a day set aside to celebrate this awesome act of bravery and love of our Lord and His Word. So much better than a Fall Festival such as we do on the last Sunday of October. I always enjoy post giving us a bit of a peek into your childhood.

    Thank you,

  2. I grew up in the Lutheran Church and A Mighty Fortress has always been one of my favorite hymns. I didn’t get to church yesterday because of icy roads so I don’t know if it was sung in my church. Thanks for the memory.

  3. Thanks for posting this. I grew up in the Lutheran Church and it is such an overwhelming idea that someone like him would go up against the powers that be in his time and give back to the people what they need in this life. And ‘A Might Fortress’ is one of my favorites, too. Again, thanks.

  4. And in 2017 will be the 500th Anniversary of the start of the Reformation. So long ago and still going strong.
    Blessings to you and yours, too.

  5. We always have a special service for reformation day…and since we didn’t sing A mighty fortress yesterday either, I played an arrangement of the hymn for the offeratory. ;)

  6. How wonderful that you remembered! You’re a “good” Lutheran. Yes, we celebrated Reformation Sunday yesterday. And we DID sing “A Mighty Fortress.” I am glad I know this history of our church. One of our pastors offered a summer study on Luther, and it was excellent. Luther and other reformers weren’t sinless by any means, but God’s wisdom came through them and opened up great opportunities for peasants and poor people to hear the word of God in their own language. We are blessed, in our denomination and others (IE: Methodist) because of these men. Thanks for bringing up this interesting topic. Blessings.

  7. “A Mighty Fortress,” (Psalm 46), the quintessential Reformation Day hymn.
    A favorite of mine, too. Have a Happy Day!

    I thank God for Martin Luther and many other great men of faith and the reformation (Calvin, Zwingli). It is the Law and the Gospel that will transform the lives of people.

    … laus Deo


  8. We celebrated Reformation Sunday at our church, too, Wendy! We all wore red, and had special instrumentalists in addition to our regular choir and organ. And yes, we got to sing A Mighty Fortress Is Our God and Built On A Rock, two of my favorite hymns.

    Happy Reformation, and Happy Halloween to you and your family!

  9. Reformation day really gets usurped here in the states doesn’t it. Happy Reformation day to you! I feel like I should go nail something good to a door! :0)

  10. I don’t like to be negative but I don’t like celebrating Halloween, especially as a teacher. lol I often wonder why we take a feast from a church, such as All Saint’s Day that we celebrate in our church, and turn it in to a commercial holiday with ghosts, goblins, etc. In my class today, I asked the students what they were dressing as. Three students had homemade costumes. Most of the rest were going to be devils, vampires, witches, etc. Yuck.

  11. Halloween was Allhallows’ Eve which means hallowed or holy evening, the vigil or eve of All Saints Day. How did this holy day change into what it is today? Living in Australia we have not had the Halloween problem in the past but this year our Supermarkets (Coles, Woolworths etc) stocked these evil things. Our family attended Holy Mass on Allhallows’ Eve and again on All Saints Day and honoured God and those who have attained Heaven and prayed that they will help us by their prayers to attain Heaven also.

  12. I’m just reading this today but I hope your day was special to you. I love A Mighty fortress. It will probably stick in my head awhile. So I’ll blame you if I hum it at work tonight lol.

  13. “Here I stand”, one of the great biographies of all time about Martin Luther was required reading in the Protestant college I went to in the 1970s! Definitely a hero of the faith! Belinda

  14. Great bit of info. I have been learning a bit about Luther jn my Old Testament Survey class and my husband having been brought up Lutheran has told me a bit about him but I wss not aware that he was revered still today. What a great message to the younger generation to stand up for God’s truth in adversity.

  15. My word, I recognized ole Martin Luther from my Catechism Days about 63 years ago! That teacher got the message across about Martin Luther, in that old German parochial school in Illinois.

  16. Having been raised as a Catholic, I never really understood what “Reformaton” meant. However we had a guest speaker in the evening service who explained it very well, and we did sing “A Mighty Fortress”. I am grateful for my early years in the Catholic Church , it gave me a “respect” (and fear) of God, but I am more grateful for the Christian Church, which taught me I could have personal relationship with Christ.
    Keep on keeping on

  17. Thank you for the refreshing message in today’s post. I too am a Christian and my German ancestors were Lutheran. The rest of the world needs to know we are not ashamed of the name of Jesus. A Mighty Fortress is one of my favorite hymns.

  18. Here’s one more Lutheran chiming in. We too observed Reformation Day this past Sunday with “A Mighty Fortress” as our opening hymn and “Built On A Rock” as our closing hymn. Our church is small so we didn’t have extra musicians and I missed that. Fondly remember special Reformation Day services with combined congregations and combined choirs singing wonderful anthems.

  19. Pingback: Reformation Day! | Ivory Spring

  20. Pingback: I am participating in “It’s All About The Kids Craft Blogging Event”! | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

