Mums the Word in THE QUILTER (October/November 2011)


Hello Friends! I hope my post finds you well. I received my Mums the Word quilt back from the Editor. The quilt is featured in the latest (October/November 2011) issue of The Quilter.

Photo as appeared in The Quilter


The construction of this quilt is quite straight forward – only squares and rectangles, even though some of the squares are as little as 1/2″ finished. I wanted a panel look for the quilt to highlight the beautiful fabrics in the beautiful Northcott‘s Mums the Word collection.


The fabrics in this collection are accented by metallic gold specks . [My Canadian readers, you ought to be so proud of Northcott being a Canadian company!]


I quilted a mixture of feathers and stencil motifs on this quilt. Where the panel blocks are geometric and regular, I traced stencil motifs onto the blocks before quilting.


I then quilted feathers in the larger blocks and rectangular areas.  I used a modified mark without really marking method to quilt the feathers in the large  blocks to achieve a uniform look.   Except for marking rough placements of the spines of the remaining feather plumes, everything else was free-handed.


In fact you can see on the back better what I meant by my mixture of stenciled motifs and feathers. Quilting was done with Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton (Color 2310) over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.


Mums the Word is the last of a series of fall-themed quilts I made/designed for publish. Should you be interested to see my other fall quilts this year, check out the following links:

1. Pumpkin Patch Runner

2. Thanksgiving Table Topper

3. Autumn Hues

4. Autumn Place Mats (with Pumpkin Silhouette Applique)

5. Tuscan Leaves

6. Spice Garden

Thanks for stopping by!  Have a glorious autumn day!
p.s.  I have more pictures to share — stay tuned

27 thoughts on “Mums the Word in THE QUILTER (October/November 2011)

  1. Love the feathers! You and Diane Gaudynski make the best feathers.
    Congratulations on having another lovely quilt published!

  2. Congratulations…again! The fabric is lovely and the front is great, but oh my, the back is really something! Incredible quilting! Thanks for sharing!

  3. I get so excited to see what created quilt and quilting on your blog that you are send for us to see–this is amazing–all the quilting that you did –LOVE the back and what can I say –another absolutely beautiful quilt and quilting is out of this world.

  4. so inspiring to look at your beautiful work, I live all the way in New Zealand and very much enjoy your regular emails. thank you!

  5. There’s not one quilt of yours that I don’t love. The quilting from the back looks gorgeous. I wondered how your quilts look after washing with the silk batting? . I read it can shrink up to 5%.

  6. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #2: Autumn « Ivory Spring

  7. Pingback: Quilt and Dishes meet… « Ivory Spring

  8. Pingback: Year in Review #1: The Quilter « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #33 « Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: Musing quiltingly: By hand or machine? | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

