Purple Mariposa in THE QUILTER (April/May 2011)


Hello Friends, up next is the second of the three my quilts featured in the April/May 2011 issue of The Quilter!


I used RJR‘s Mariposa fabrics in the purple colorway to construct the quilt top.


If you study the color scheme a little further, you can see that all the fabrics except for one are solids or tone on tone prints. Using mostly solids or tone on tone prints is a great way to highlight a particular print fabric in a quilt, in this case, the little purple floral print.


I quilted sunbursts on the blocks (using an Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton purple thread) because I was longing for some warmth when I was working on this quilt right before Christmas last year. The batting I used for this quilt is my usual – Tuscany Silk by Hobbs.


Closeup of the quilting motif shown with my newfangled salad made with quinoa:


Oh, look! Those swirls again! :)


Kits to replicate this quilt are available from Quakertown Quilts. I would actually like to see this quilt done in other colorways too: red, brown, green, black etc!


Keep coloring me purple – here is a photo of the quilt back:


That’s all for today. Thanks for stopping by. It’s always great to have your visit. I wish you lovely one!

20 thoughts on “Purple Mariposa in THE QUILTER (April/May 2011)

  1. It may always be great to “have your visit,” but it’s always great for us to have open access to your beautiful work! Once again, the quilting you did here is gorgeous. The more I stop by, the more I’m picking up on your style, and really appreciating it. Thank you – always – for sharing close-up pictures.

  2. Wendy,
    Gorgeous. My favorite colour combination….so, should I send you my address?? lol
    The starburst quilting is spectacular…must remember to use it in one of my quilts.

  3. Woww! I love the purple… :) And I could imagine the sunflower color theme MIGHT look good too (which in my very limited artistic mind could design) – Bright yellow + brown + little bit of light green.

  4. Pingback: Year in Review #1: The Quilter « Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

