Christmas in Ohio in Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Winter 2010)

I received my complimentary copy of Fons & Porter‘s Easy Quilts (Winter 2010) yesterday.


And I was and still am SUPER happy with how my Christmas in Ohio quilt was photographed!  This quilt is peppered with the famous Ohio Star block, thus the name Christmas in Ohio.

[Picture from http://www.fonsandporter.com]

This lap-size quilt was made with Benartex‘s Winter Traditions fabrics!  I love the Currier & Ives look on the fabric prints – they just convey a sense of coziness that comes with the cold wintry season!  You can purchase a kit to replicate this quilt from Fons & Porter.

Check out the  information on converting this quilt into a twin and full size quilt in the magazine article.   Can you imagine this quilt draping a bed during the cold nights of winter?

Quilting was done using Aurifil‘s Mako 50 Cotton thread, and over Hobbs‘ Tuscany Silk Batting.  I have said it before, but this is my favorite combination of thread and batting for most of my projects!  Curious mind wants to know if you have tried out my favorite quilting combination yet…

I grew up in tropical Southeast Asia, and had never seen snow or experienced a cold season till I came to the States at the age of 19.  I never cease to wonder at the amazing changes from season to season.  So working on these “cold” fabrics was special to me, albeit this quilt was made during the peak of  summer this year. :)

Thanks for stopping by.  I shall catch up with you later!  For now, I need to go and keep all my plates spinning!

20 thoughts on “Christmas in Ohio in Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Winter 2010)

  1. Yes, it turned out GREAT! Love it! Wendy, you must have a record for someone with the most quilts in magazines. You never cease to amaze me!

    XO,

    Sheila :-)

  2. Each photo is lovelier than the next! You are giving me an overwhelming urge to start Christmas shopping. I shall blame you and your wintry quilt, since you will not be here to defend yourselves. :-)

  3. Wendy – I love it. From the colors to the fabrics and don’t forget your always fabulous quilting.

    BTW – what machine do you use for quilting? I don’t remember – think it’s still the ‘pregnancy’ brain … or at least that’s what I’m blaming it on :P.

  4. Can’t wait to pick up my copy! I really enjoy that magazine. Love the quilting on this one. I wish I had a stitch regulator on my machine ’cause I just can’t get that precise an echo of my swirls as I am trying to control my stitch length and speed. I really do love the swirling feather. I am going to have to try that one!

  5. I love the quilt but then I love all your quilts. I gave used Aurofil with Bottom Line in the bobbin for quite some time and am just about to embark on the silk batting for the first time.

  6. What a great way to use the scenic fabric, another gorgeous quilt from you. I’ve been using the Mettler 60 weight cotton which is very similar to the aurifil. One day I hope to use a silk batt too.

  7. This is one of the most beautiful quilts I have ever seen. What a great idea to have the fence scene through out the quilt to the edge. I just love it.

Leave a Reply

