Teacher’s Welcome in QUILTER’S WORLD (August 2010)

Good day, Friends!  Summer often gives way to preparation for a new school year – teachers and parents alike.   I thought you might like my “blackboard” quilt “Teacher’s Welcome” that is featured in the August 2010 issue of Quilter’s World:

The sample quilt has “WELCOME” appliqued on the blackboard, but you may choose to applique any words you might like to suit your classroom purposes – names of your students, class motto etc.

Here are pictures that show the quilting on the quilt:

To make it more school-lish, I quilted cursive abc’s along the sashings:

The fabrics are from “Heritage Prints”, “Flower Mart III”, and “Fossil Fern” by Benartex:


Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you have a great rest of the summer!  I am off to quilting my Christmas Whirligigs Quilt – more pictures later!

23 thoughts on “Teacher’s Welcome in QUILTER’S WORLD (August 2010)

  1. What an adorable quilt. Wouldn’t any teacher just love this? Or anyone else for that matter. Would be a darling table topper as well.
    Such cute touches like peppermintpatcher mentioned; the alphabet in the border.

  2. I love the cursive alphabet in the sashing, great idea. Your quilting is beautiful. Looking forward to the Christmas Whirligigs Quilt. Happy stitching …….Debbie

  3. Reblogged this on Ivory Spring and commented:

    The idea of school hit closer to home at the Ivory Spring household this week as I enrolled Miss Baby is a psedu-pre-school prep class to help her get used to learning with other children. I thought I will repost my “Teacher’s Welcome” quilt since it’s that time of the year for my quilting buddies that are in the education sector! I have now officially started my other job – a taxi driver for Miss Baby, and let me tell you, it’s tiring!

  4. Adorable! I especially love the cursive alphabet and the quilting around the apples. By the way, what method do you use for applique? Do you applique by hand, or machine applique with fusible web?

  5. I remember seeing this but didn’t save it. The idea is super and my grand would love as a place mat. TMQing is super.

  6. And so it starts….and will be gone in a flash!! Ask any of your friends…these little ones are only that for such a very short time (even though it seems like it is taking “forever”!). DH and I are now into the GREAT grand stage with another (#2) due next April….Amazing!!! Time doesn’t just fly, it is at ‘warp’ speed!!!!! Uber hugs, Doreen

  7. Pingback: Separated at birth… QUILTS | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

