Peppermint Parcels: Final Sneak Peeks

The quilt formerly known as “Presents” is now formally known as “Peppermint Parcels”. I appreciate all your suggestions – my husband and I had a fun time discussing each name, and kind of took everyone’s suggestion and melded them into “Peppermint Parcels”.

I like the happy look of this fun Christmas quilt:

The fabrics are from Henry Glass‘ Hip Holidays. You might want to grab the fabrics as soon as they come out… I have a feeling this will be a popular one:

A few more sneak peeks for you. All the quilting was done with very minimal marking and on my home machine. As a general rule, I avoid marking my quilts for quilting because I am simply too anxious to get to the actual quilting:

The tags are embroidered with “Merry Christmas” in different languages. My handwriting is normally a little better than what is embroidered. I wanted to give a childish look to the “handwriting”. :) I didn’t do the hand stitchery before sandwiching the quilt because I wanted the stitching to add to the quilting effect – thus, the chicken scratch you see on the back of the quilt:

This one is for Gloria in Italy (she proofed my translation):

This one is for Ellen. I really wanted to include the Russian version because of her. Ellen graciously sent me the Russian way of writing “Merry Christmas”:

That’s all the sneak peeks for now. It is off to the editor until the December 2010 of Quilter’s World hits the market. Thanks for stopping by. It’s always a pleasure to have you visit.

31 thoughts on “Peppermint Parcels: Final Sneak Peeks

  1. Peppermint Parcels is the perfect name! I love how you did the tags, this is too darling, Wendy. You are a wonderful designer and quilter!

  2. Wow.. i cant believe you’re already done with this quilt! this is so pretty! And I cant wait for Christmas to come!!

  3. Hi Wendy,
    Your Quilt is beautiful, the name you gave it also fits it.
    Thank you for sharing , Peppermint colors make your Quilt come alive.
    Ruby from sunny Fl

  4. Wow all ready for Christmas! You are my kind of girl :)
    I’ll have to admit I don’t like marking my quilts either because I just want to put it under my needle and go for it.

    Love the quilt!! It’s perfect in every way.

  5. Thanks for the awesome sneak peek! What a delightful quilt. I love the little packages. And I’m amazed you did all that quilting with almost no marking. Something to ponder….

  6. Hi Wendy!! Great job and super great result!! The name suits perfectly and both the machine and the hand sewing steps are jst perfect.
    Wish I could do it … It’s also nice the idea to express Merry Christmas in different languages and I was happy to advise you with the Italian version ..
    Congrats to you for this lovely quilt and also to yr husband who support you in a smart way!
    ciao, Gloria

  7. Your quilt looks wonderful! I can’t believe you did all the machine quilting on your domestic machine – you are a very clever lady.

    Thanks for visiting my blog, you are still set to no-reply.

Leave a Reply

