Needlework: My “McMansions” Project – Part DONE!

Come congratulate me! My “McMansions” Project (pattern: Sampler Gameboard by The Drawn Thread) is DONE, DONE, DONE!

I was so excited about the possibility and thought of having a January finish last week that I could hardly carry on with my daily duties. I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t eat, I couldn’t sit still – I was all the while thinking about finishing the sampler. Okay, you know I am being overly dramatic! I worked on it on and off whenever I had a few uninterrupted moments. And it is now FINISHED! You will noticed that I could only fit two letters for my initial, because that “W” is so very encompassing. I decided to only do my last name initial for the square within the gameboard for the very same reason:

This sampler was started in December 2008. I was just getting back in the wonderful world of cross-stitching, particularly antique and reproduction samplers. I liked the whimsical look of the sampler, and the fact that I didn’t have to stitch very far for the individual small pictures within the big picture to emerge:

I was reminded of the verse in John14:2 as I was stitching toward the finish line: “In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.”

Thank you for walking this stitching journey with me. Many of you had been there since the very beginning of this McMansion project. Some of you are relatively new to this. But in either case, please know that I appreciate you! Your encouraging words always make my day.

I wish you a lovely Monday, and a lovely week ahead!

35 thoughts on “Needlework: My “McMansions” Project – Part DONE!

  1. wow whata mazing embroidery . well done and a big congrats to you for finished it before start of february…
    What a work – but the sampler is really beautiful.
    big hugs, Helle

  2. Wendy,
    Congratulations, it looks great! I enjoyed stitching along with you last year. It was a great feeling to finish, but I do miss it.

    I still think yours will be framed before mine is!

    Susan

  3. Oh Yippee! Congratulations on getting this great project done. Love the reference to John…one of my favorite verses in the Bible!

  4. Congratulations Wendy! I know it feels so good to finish something. The snow storm has really been a blessing–it just sets the mood for working on projects.

  5. Your sampler looks wonderful. What a nice job you did on it and to finish it as well. I think that things like that get lost sometimes and people don’t finish them, I am so glad you did because it was well worth it. Thanks for sharing it with us.

  6. Oh Wow! It’s done!!!! CONGRATS!!! That is quite an accomplishment!! Did you get tired of cross-stitching by the end? haha, I would probably not have enough patience to finish such a big project!

  7. Oh, congratulations, Wendy!!! I know you have worked tirelessly on this project…and it is TREMENDOUS! You’ve done a beautiful job, and I love the verse you included.

    Love,
    Michele

  8. What a magnificent job! You should be so very proud. I love the way you thought of the verse about the future in a mansion in Heaven. Happy Blue Monday.

  9. Congratulations Wendy on finished McMansions! With everything that you have going on, you should be proud of this finish! I can almost see you being giddy about finishing it! Now what’s your next stitching project?

  10. Congratulations Wendy! It’s just beautiful. Are you going to frame it for the wall or actually make it into a game board? Either way it’s just wonderful!

  11. Beautiful job! I started this sometime last year, and haven’t touched it in quite a while. You’ve inspired me to dig it out and work on it!

  12. Oh my gosh, I’m new to your blog and all I have to say is … Wow! I used to cross stitch and embroider but haven’t in years – this is truly a beautiful piece. And it will be such an heirloom to pass on!

Leave a comment