Mary Wigham: Part 8

mary1

Hello Fellow Stitchers,

One step forward and two steps backward is my summary of my latest Mary progress!

Do you see anything amiss in the pictures?

mary25

mary26

The placement of my flower sprig is WAY OFF!! Can you believe I have been going on with life for at least three weeks and not even realized it?

I am a terrible stickler to plans — so, without hesitation, I knew I was going take out the stitches. It took me hours to take those stitches out because they were stitched one over one on a 32-count linen. What a royal waste of time — the time I could have used to actually ADD stitches to my Mary. All that done, I am still stuck in part 1.Β  You can see the latest of my Mary:

mary27

I guess sometimes life is such that when we take a step forward, we ended up taking two steps backward. But if we keep at it, we will eventually get to where we have set out mind. You can see I am quite desperate to find some solace in coming up with a deep philosophical thought to lessen the pain from having take out my 2-1/2 week’s worth of work! :(Β  Thinking of
Vicki who has had to take out stitches on her cat a couple of months ago helped me persevere through hours of un-stitching. I guess our trials aren’t unique to just us after all.

Thank you for popping by. I hope you have great stitching day – whether you are doing real stitching, or just stitching your story of life in general!

p.s. If you have had the misfortune of having to take out stitches, I find that using a piece masking tape to dab over the area you have un-stitch cleans up the residual fluff from the floss quite nicely.

10 thoughts on “Mary Wigham: Part 8

  1. Wendy,
    I just finished ripping out some stitching on This is the Day sampler. I had switched the length and the width measurements and didn’t have enough border. I started it again and now have 1 1/2 inches on one side and 2 1/2 on the other border! I am not ripping it out again, though. I just figure that it could have been a lot worse, I could have discovered it when I was almost finished and had to tear out more. And, hopefully it will teach me to be more careful in the future. We have got to keep looking for those lessons that are constantly coming our way. And, just think of the patience we are practicing. That is a big one for me.
    Enjoy your re-stitching-it will be even more enjoyable the second time!
    susan

  2. I just finished taking out stitches on the Quaker a 6 Mains too! I contemplated doing a work-around, but knew it would stand out like a sore thumb to me — so I kept at it.
    Great tip on the masking tape!

  3. Oh, how frustrating, Wendy! You have many sympathies. I’ve had many a ripping-out session, too (or, as one friend called it, “reverse stitching”). That’s a great tip about the tape.

  4. Believe me I know how it feels. It’s a ‘painful’ journey and you’re right like life their many hiccups. Chug on Wendy!

  5. Oh, I sooooo know what you mean. I had to take out almost a whole motif on my 40ct fabric, just not fun at all. I think it takes me twice as long to remove stitches and you are surely right, when I think about how many stitches I could have put in in that time I almost want to cry. I hope you don’t have any more ‘biggies’.

  6. Ugh! I hate when that happens! That is usually when I “move on” to other projects and end up with many a ufo!
    Sorry you had to remove all those hours worth of stitches!
    But your project with be spectacular when you are finished ~ and I will wait patiently for the pics!
    Many Blessings on the rest of your stitching!

  7. Wendy, it will be beautiful whenever it is completed. A piece that will be treasured! I have a piece of stitchery that was started by my grandmother in 1932 and completed by my aunt in the 1970s.

  8. No fun – this happens with my knitting too and is so frustrating but I’m sure the extra effort to make it right will make it look all the more beautiful in the end.

Leave a Reply

