Mary Wigham: Part 3

mary1

Jacqueline of Needleprint graciously made mention of me in one of her posts. I have enjoyed learning bits and pieces about the girls that stitched the Ackworth samplers while I am stitching Mary. I felt a strong sense of kinship and empathy with these girls (though most of them remain silent in their history, according to Jacqueline) in that they, like me, could only stitch on their sampler in their spare time. I am inspired by these girls to patiently fill in the sampler one stitch at a time in my spare time… so, here is my latest progress:

mary9

mary10

“Nice colors” was my husband’s assessment. I have to say I totally agree with him:

mary11

Jacqueline couldn’t determine how much time it took for the girls to stitch their samplers. As for me, it took me three weeks to reach this point. My stitching time is never more than 20 minutes a day. I had an exception yesterday. I stitched for about an hour at a coffee shop. I know I must make quite a strange sight at the coffee shop. After all, when was the last time you saw someone working on her needlework at a coffee shop? ;) But it was fun for me as I was able to get a little bit of progress on the green motif:

mary12

I hope you are inspired by the creativity and perseverance of the Ackworth schoolgirls in making that samplers. Though annals were not written about their life and accomplishments, they have blessed us with their needles and threads – and for that, their legacy lives on!

Have a lovely weekend. I will see you again next week!

10 thoughts on “Mary Wigham: Part 3

  1. Love the little Matroushka overseeing your work! The stitching is beautiful. I received your thank you note today. Your handwriting is amazing !! :0)

  2. Thanks for dropping by Wendy! You’re doing so well with Mary, and stitching 1/1 at that … wowzer!

    I’m ashamed to say that I am so far behind :(

    Congrats! On your latest feature. I see you’re a busy quilt designer too! I’m still a beginner quilter in every sense of the word :p

  3. Its coming a long very nicely. Love the colors combo. Congratulations on the mentioned from Jacqueline of Needleprint. It was so true how much you have achieved for a busy woman!

  4. I love the way your colors look on that fabric. I’m plugging along but I’m not as far along you are.
    Happy Stitching
    Shay

  5. you keep amazing me with your creativeness! I am having a creablock at the moment…. nothing happening at the creativefront here….. I so love to watch your handywork!

    hugs from the Netherlands
    Winda aka DutchQ

  6. My dear, if people can read, be on the computer or knit in a coffee shop, you surely can stitch. I take little stitching projects wherever I go too. I love the colors in this project. It strikes me as having kind of an oriental feel to it. Beautiful!
    Aloha!

Leave a Reply

