Mary Wigham: Part 2

mary1

I am not making as much of a progress compared to some in the Stitch-Along — go on to the USA group to see some amazing progress and pictures. Not everyone is using the suggested color schemes. So, you will see some neat interpretations of the sampler. This is what I have so far:

mary5

mary6

I have had the most enjoyable time filling in each and every stitch:

mary7

A little tidbit from The Scarlet Letter on the Quaker Samplers to help you appreciate these historical samplers — Quaker samplers are unique in that the motifs and designs used on them are entirely of the Friends’ own making. The style spread from Europe to America, and remained distinctive even in this widely separated environments. The Quaker designs are reflective of the Quaker theology, extolling the virtues of plainness, of standing apart from the sphere of influence of the outside world, and of peace and serenity (as symbolized by the popular sampler motifs of floating swans, wreaths, floral sprigs, and paired doves).

mary8

Thanks for stopping by and be a part of my Mary Wigham journey.  I hope you have a great weekend!

11 thoughts on “Mary Wigham: Part 2

  1. thanks for visiting my blog!!! I appreciate new visitors!!
    I finished the BTSS tonight, to Mary comes out to play tomorrow!
    Yours is gorgeous!!!! You are doing a wonderful job with it!!! Keep it up!
    Love the roses!!!

  2. Dear Wendy,

    Just to say thank you again ~ I am so honored that “Scentimental Journey” was chosen as a name for your beautiful quilt in the readers competition. There were so many excellent submissions made by other bloggers, I never dreamed my suggestion would be chosen. This is a high point in my patchwork and quilting journey!

    Hugs,
    Kalianne

Leave a Reply

