Recipe: Japanese Fruit Pie

I have been asked for the recipe for my all-time favorite pie recently, and I thought I would go ahead and share it with my bloggy friends. I love this pie so much that I can eat it all day long! :) The best way to describe it is a pecan pie with a twist.

Interestingly, the recipe did not originate from the Orient. Rather, it is a recipe dating back to the Colonial days….

  • 1 (9 inch) unbaked pie shell
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon distilled white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a medium mixing bowl combine eggs, butter or margarine, sugar, vanilla extract, and vinegar. Beat until smooth. Stir in pecans, coconut, and raisins. Pour mixture into pastry shell.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes. Cool before serving.

thanksgiving8

It is called “Japanese” because of the coconut flakes, and way back when, it was thought that coconuts came from Japan. It was purported that Martha Washington had it made for George Washington’s birthday one year.

Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “Recipe: Japanese Fruit Pie

  1. This is a wonderful–delicious pie. I made this years ago for a school function and they loved it. Thanks for reminding me of this great pie for Thanksgiving.

  2. Hmmm! I may just have to try this one day (when I can get to grips with “cups”) Please start using grams like the rest of the world!!! LOL

  3. i have made a Japanese Fruit Pie not sure mine is the same but I printed yours out. They are delicious and I am going to make your.
    Thanks for sharing.

  4. My Revolutionary War Patriot was under the orders of George Washington at West Point and other campaign’s. George as noted was an amazing man. He had two or three personal doctors traveling with him. He allowed his own doctors to take care of his wounded soldiers. Thanks for remembering him. Happy Birthday George!

    PS: The pie photo was beautiful. I’m going to make the recipe. It will be fun to take it to a Daughter’s of the Revolution event! My Patriot Ebenezer Inglee joined the Continental Army when he was 16 years old. So pleased that you helped all of us to remember George!

Leave a Reply

