Virtual Trunk Show #16: STARS #2

S is for summer and…

STARS!  I am astounded by just how many quilts are made with star blocks, mine quilts and designs included.  I am happy to share with you a few more of my star quilts since my first installment of Virtual Trunk Show on Star Quilts (posted here).  Click on quilt names for additional information for each design.

1.  Urban Stars (Quilt Trends, Winter 2014)

Urban Stars Layout

2.  Starry Repetitions (Quilter’s World, Summer 2014)

IMG_6052

3.  Urban Oasis (Quilter’s World, Spring 2014)

IMG_6704

4.  Forest Floor (A Free to Use Pattern for Lecien)

Design 2db high res_with binding_600dpi

5.  Country Stars (A Free to Use Pattern for Lecien)

High Res_Free Pattern

6.  Rising Stars (The Quilter, August/September 2013)

IMG_3193

7.  Solar Star (Annie’s Dazzling Diamond Quilts, May 2014)

IMG_6440

8.  Starry Dance (Annie’s Fat Quarter Shuffle, October 2013)

IMG_4063

9.  Towne Square (A Free to Use Pattern for RJR Fabrics)

Kit Project

10.  To Eternity and Beyond (A Free to Use Pattern for Benartex)

Design 3d_50 x 62_high res

11.  Space Odssey (A Free to Use Pattern for Benartex)

Design 1a_54 x 62_high res

12.  Stardom (Annie’s Row Quilts: Longitude & Latitude)

IMG_6650

13.  Plain & Fancy (A Quilting Treasures BOM Quilt)

BOM_Alternate_High Res

BOM_Applique_High Res

I hope you have liked my starry quilts.  There is another reason why stars keep appearing in my quilts — you see, Miss Baby has been practicing her Twinkle Variations on her violin at least once a day, almost everyday, for the last 8 months, and is continuing to do so!  One can’t really blame me for seeing stars as I go about my daily life routines, eh? :)

So, what do you think of star blocks or star quilts?  Do you like making them as much as I do?

Thanks for stopping by.   I always appreciate your visits and comments.

p.s.  Click here in case you are wanting to know more about the stitched monogram piece.

16 thoughts on “Virtual Trunk Show #16: STARS #2

  1. Star blocks are my favorite! Especially spinners. I think every quilt on my bucket list has stars of some sort. I’m getting ready to start “Plain and Fancy”. Love your designs Wendy!

  2. Oh my do I ever remember those Twinkle days! I have been working on a Patriotic table runner that has stars for their centers. Love your star quilts.

  3. All the star quilts are winners!! I, too, am getting ready to begin Plain and Fancy. Thanks for the last sentence regarding the stitched monogram. It is a beautiful work of art. Thanks for all that you share.

  4. I’m not sure I’ve ever made a star block ?? Isn’t that amazing considering my maiden name is “Morningstar”… I own Eleanor Burns’ Morningstar quilt pattern but have yet to make it. I have some designs drawn up with friendship stars in them… and I LOVE the 7 sisters star quilt design — but I just haven’t pieced one — imagine that !! It’s on my list. Thanks for the beautiful quilts and sharing the fantastic up-close quilting images too my friend. So inspirational! Hugs, Karen

  5. I could never have enough of stars! While my first star quilt has all the different ones, I’d also love to do Plain and Fancy..love its colors, too

  6. Urban Stars and Rising Star are my faves…..and can totally see why you are seeing/hearing stars!!!! LOL! Each one is so different in their ‘feel’!!!! Something for everyone for sure!! Hugs…..SSAB

  7. I love Love LOVE star quilts. Contry Stars is definitely on the to-do list.
    Beautiful quilts and wonderful cross stitch.
    Have a great day.
    Always, Queenie

  8. I have to admit, Wendy, that I have this “secret star” habit. When I finish a quilt I make stars and nine patches from the leftovers! That way I don’t have little scraps lying around……use them up! I have little stacks just waiting to be put in a quilt!!

    Have a great weekend!!

  9. Well the good news is, any child who practices with that kind of tenacity is building a very valuable life skill. I’d rather have that discipline in my tool belt than talent without discipline. Your star designs are my favorites, along with your feathers. I’m a big fan of yours.

  10. Hi, I’m just getting to know you, Wendy. I love, love, love all your star quilts. I’m also a fan of all your tutes on free motion quilting, I’m very close to trying my hand at FMQing because of your simple way of teaching it. Thank you doesn’t seem strong enough but THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

