February & Giveaway!

Hello Friends, the sun was out today, but when I went outside briefly earlier, it was still cold… I had read a blogger express how she thought January was stolen from her [Sorry, I can’t remember whom.]  Well, I feel exactly the same way.  I thought I had all the time in the world in January to get a bunch of things checked off my to-do-list, but here it is… we are quite well into February.  And all that to say — I so do not have things together!

I have meant to have this giveaway a little earlier, but better a little late than never!  I have two copies of 2014 Mount Vernon calendar to give away.

calendar

The preservation of Mount Vernon,  the original estate of General George Washington, is entirely funded by private donations.  If you feel like it,  you may donate to the worthy cause of preserving history for the future generations here.

washington5

My first pilgrimage to Mount Vernon happened less than 6 months after I came to the States for college.  Prior to coming to the US, I vividly remember one day walking by the charred remnants of a old building on one of the streets in my home country — the old building was no longer to give way to the building of modern shops.  I felt sad because that old building wasn’t preserved.  SO… fast forward a few months when I set foot on the grounds of Mount Vernon for the very first time in my life.  My heart soared with the knowledge that the estate of George Washington had been preserved for future generations to visit and experience.  I went away feeling the grounds of Mount Vernon being sacred.  That’s the beginning of my love of Colonial America history, and as they say, the rest is “history”.

washington6

Unlike what I learned in my Civics class in a Southeast Asian primary school, the venerated general is MUCH MUCH more than just the boy who chopped down the cherry tree!  Currently at this point in my life, I marvel at his architecture prowess!

Aside from my mother’s birthday and Valentine’s Day, February also marks General Washington’s birthday to me (will be his 282nd this year!).  Click here for a short but thought-provoking read.

***

To enter the giveaway, leave a comment between now and next Thursday (2/13/2014) on:

1.  what the month of February means to you.

2.  what you admire the most about General Washington.

Thanks for stopping by, Dear Friends!  I hope you have a lovely rest of the day.  Hugs to you all.

32 thoughts on “February & Giveaway!

  1. I was born on George Washington’s birthday February 22. When I was young I used to think we got a school holiday because it was MY birthday :)
    February is a special month for me since it is my birth month, my daughter’s AND my grandmother’s.
    I admire Washington’s steadfastness. He never wavered from his commitment to his country.

  2. George Washington is the ultimate example of what it means to serve one’s country. He and Martha wanted to retire to Mt Vernon but accepted the difficult role of being the first President and president’s wife. I admire their sacrifice of personal comforts and happiness. February is my husband’s birthday…we are one year closer to retirement!

  3. My mother’s birthday was in February, along with my brother, born on Valentine’s day , my godchild, an a few more family members.George Washington was always a president who acted for the benefit of out country!

  4. I love February because of lots of family birthdays, including my mom, who will be 85 this year. She taught me to sew when I was 5. I like the story of George tossing the coin across the Delaware river, to show his men it wasn’t that far, and to give them the much needed motivation to keep going during that cold winter. He did know how to motivate. Mount Vernon is beautiful!

  5. February 7 is my birthday and my little brother was born on February 5 ( he is passed away) , my niece is born on February 4 and it is nice to be in the same month as Georg Washington The President of the USA !!

  6. February’s n both a happy and sad time for me,my sons birthday and my youngest brother lost his life in February.I admire Washington because of his dedication to our country.

  7. My birthday is in February, so I don’t have this month like a lot of people do! George Washington is one of my favorite presidents. He shaped a lot of what our country used to be until the more recent years. I really would love to see a lot of people like GW, and with his integrity, come to the forefront of politics and bring our country back to what our forefathers envisioned.

  8. February has always meant that Spring was very close!!!! Mount Vernon was definitely the highlight of our trek your direction (thanks entirely to you, dear Friend!!). I/we were most taken with how he was so “forward looking” and many years ahead of his time with the structure of his life at the Mount and the garden ideas/concepts that he brought from his European visits resulting in healthier eating habits for all his household and guests. We didn’t have near enough time to take in all that was available….even after our 5 to 6 hours we spent there!!!! Hugs………………………SSAB

  9. The month of February is special for me, as my sweet hubby proposed on the 10th of Feb. We celebrate that day instead of Valentine’s ;-)
    What I admire most about Gen Washington, was his faith in God. A quote –
    The blessing and protection of Heaven are at all times necessary but especially so in times of public distress and danger. The General hopes and trusts that every officer and man will endeavor to live and act as becomes a Christian soldier, defending the dearest rights and liberties of his country.
    (123. George Washington, The Writings of George Washington, John C. Fitzpatrick,)
    He was truly a man of honor and faith.

  10. My beloved husband and one of my darling daughter’s birthday is in February. My darling baby daughter will be celebrating her wedding anniversary on Feb 12th.( Yes, on matter how old she gets, she will always be my baby.) February also means a new supply of chocolate on Valentine’s Day!! I am allergic to fresh flowers so a box of chocolate it is.
    George Washington was a brave and inspiring President with great integrity. He was a great leader and served how country well.

  11. The month of February is a very important birthday month to me. My father’s foster mother’s birthday was February 2. My father and one brother and his only sister were orphaned after the death of both parents in New York City in the early 1900s. After being in the orphan home for approximately four years, they were put on one of the orphan trains which took orphans across the country looking for couples who would take children to raise as their own. My father and his siblings got as far as Marion, KS where this woman and her husband took all three of them to raise. My father’s birthday was the 7th. My maternal grandmother’s birthday was the 12th and my mother’s big day was Valentine’s Day (the 14th).
    I was fortunate to grow up honoring our founding fathers of which George Washington was the first. What a brave and wise man. In each room of the four rooms in our grade school we all proudly said the Pledge of Allegiance each morning at the beginning of the school day.
    It’s been a good life.

  12. Hi Wendy… hope you are able to climb on top of all those quilts and claim success soon! You’ve been working so hard. George Washington was a leader, a gentleman, a lover of animals and land and rose to be president of the United States without a college education. The more I learn about this man the more impressed I become. You’re fortunate to live near such a historical site. Thanks for the wonderful giveaway – it’s very thoughtful of you.

  13. I always think of February as the month we find out from the ground hog how much longer we will be suffering through winter weather. I don’t put a lot of faith in Mr. Groundhog, but I always wait to hear of his prediction with bated breath! I love that G. Washington declined to continue the to serve another term even though he probably could have continued for as long as he lived.

  14. Thank you for the enlightenment. I have always thought the President’s Day was in honor of Abraham Lincoln as well as George Washington. {Not all Presidents}. We used to honor both of them in February and I believed they just found a way of taking away a holiday by combining the two honorees on one day. We have had lots of Presidents who deserve honor, but unfortunately not all of them fit that category.

    I would so love to visit Mt. Vernon one day. ( or two or three or more days).

    February has Valentine’s Day and I like red and pink and hearts and lace and ribbons and Chocolate..

    George Washington was a talented and honorable man and America is so fortunate to have had him as one of its founding fathers.

  15. Thanks for a thought provoking read. I do appreciate our country’s heritage and hope that it won’t be lost on future generations. Of course, George Washington will always be remembered as our first president. February is the month my first child was born, my son. He now has two sons of his own. Also, my husband’s birthday is in February, we celebrated with steaks at dinner last night. Thanks for giveaway opportunity, the calendar is beautiful.

  16. I am always encouraged by the love of country shown by people who choose to be Americans. We sometimes lose sight in our busy lives of what a blessing it is to live in America. Growing up in New Jersey, February meant the last “real” month of winter, hopefully, some snow days off from school, and a day off to celebrate George Washington’s birthday (and a second day off for Abe Lincoln’s).

    New Jersey is known (somewhat tongue in cheek) for the many places marked, “George Washington slept here.” as he travelled the area during the revolution. So, hat’s off to Washington and his service to America, and let’s quilt a quilt for every one of the places Washington “slept.”

  17. I feel the same reverence for Mt Vernon. It’s lovely & pastoral & really is an example is where George Washington’s heart was. This is one of the reasons that I feel he was a true statesman. He would have preferred a life on Mt Vernon but his sense of duty to his country made him sacrifice that life.
    I’m sorry but this year February just means a shorter month to endure this artic cold to me.

  18. February means winter is really going to end in another month, but not before we get a big snow dump; usually around Washingtons Birthday!

    I am so glad that Mt Vernon has been preserved. In America, we have a bad habit of building and tearing down and not respecting the history of our YOUNG country.

    When I travel to Europe I see these wonderful places that are many centuries old and so well cared for, I am sad that we don’t do the same. I live in a 110 year old house and understand why it is often less expensive to tear down and rebuild, than to preserve.

  19. Aside from February being my own birth month (I will be 65 on the 10th and was reminded by the 96 year husband of my 92 year old music teacher that I was now entering “old” age!), the month is one of renewal to me…..a renewal of my wonderful life, another year to celebrate and look forward to, things to plan and of course at the end of the month, Sewing Expo in Puyallup, Washington starts. Lucky me, I am 10 minutes from the venue!

    General Washington and many of the other original great leaders of our country are great role models in that they had other careers, and being the President was just a temporary gig. They wanted to serve their country and they did, but after their time was up, they went home again, to farm, or doctor, or lawyer. I so wish our politicians these days would do that.

  20. February for me means longer days and we move a bit closer to Spring – my favourite time of year!
    I’m in England and I’m sorry to say I know little about Washington!

  21. George Washington: President. General. Great military leader. Father of our country…. but also loving husband, farmer, gentleman…..
    As I was born and raised in W Va, Mt Vernon was near and was a place I loved to visit as a child with my parents. Your words are so true about the sacredness of the land. You can envision Gen Washington surveying his estate and riding into the stables, sitting in his library, dying in the upstairs bedroom… Visiting the entombment of George and Martha is such a reverend place of memories for me.
    and here’s one of my fav quotes:

    “May the father of all mercies scatter light, and not darkness, upon our paths, and make us in all our several vocations useful here, and in His own due time and way everlastingly happy.”
    George Washington

    February. Hearts. Love. Happy Valentines Day to all!

  22. February is the month that my inlaws celebrated their anniversary. Their union gave me my wonderful husband. Also, love celebrating the birthdays of President Washington and President Lincoln. Thanks so much for the giveaway@

  23. February is the birthmonth of our two greatest presidents! George Washington was very courageous and humble. I could sit in a rocker on the backporch of Mt. Vernon for hours!

  24. February: my friend’s birthday on Feb. 2, the only day during the winter here that the sun shines! I remember visiting Mt Vernon years ago. Very majestic setting, but I was saddened strolling through the grounds to find the slaves were buried in “a plot”, no identification that I remember. I do know he freed his slaves upon his death, but the thought of “owning another” just because you can still makes me sad.

  25. My father lived just a few miles down the road from Mt Vernon before he passed away 4 years ago. I have lots of memories of the area. I miss my dad and my visits there. Now I travel to Charlottesville where my step mother moved to be near family. G. Washington was apparently a man of prayer who trusted in God. I love the painting showing him doing just that. We certainly need our leaders to diligently pray for this nation and for guidance as they lead it. On a lighter note, I love the seasons. Every month has its own special offering to the year. In Feb. we don’t have to think of mowing yet and we begin to plan for spring gardening. Yes, there is that day of love in there. I like that.

  26. February is a month of birthdays including mine. I love hearts so seeing them n pink my favorite color makes is even more fun. George was a creative and unique man. Visiting mount Vernon was so neat to learn about him. They happen to be taping for the biography of George Washington were I got a tip from George while taking a photo with him. The tip never stand on the side of the sword the guy will use it to lift your dress. Tee hee. Happy valentines day

  27. February is the love month!! My husband’s birthday, and several of the children and grandchildren, so we have a big celebration. Washington was faith in God and love of country. Two things we need again so desperately in this country.

Leave a Reply

