Bird Watching: Sneak Peek #1

Hello Friends,  I hope you are doing well!  It’s wet and gloomy where I am at, but I know…. spring will be here soon!  At least that’s what I tell Miss Baby when she muses about wanting to fly to Southeast Asia to escape this cold spell because it’s warm in SE Asia!  Among other things this past weekend, I worked on my Bird Watching for an upcoming editorial feature.

IMG_5344

The fabrics are from RJR’s upcoming line Flutter.  Click here to view the lovely fabric swatches — and you know you will want to get the fabrics when they are released to shops!  I am having quite a few projects using Flutter fabrics coming up!  Stay tuned for details.

***

Meanwhile, be sure you make a note to visit my friend’s Vicki’s blog when she starts her birdwatching posts this year.  In my estimation, Vicki lives in paradise.

And before I sign off, here are a few bird quilts I have done in the past.  Click on the names to view more pictures of the quilts.

1.  Song of Williamsburg (addendum, pattern no longer available)

2.  Carols of the Cardinals (The Quilter, Holiday 2008)

3.  Nestlings (The Quilter, April/May 2011)

spring-song101

4.  Out of the Nest (The Quilter, August/September 2012)

IMG_2344

5.  Sweet Meadow (The Quilter, August/September 2012)

IMG_2357

6.  Midwinter Night (The Quilter, Holiday 2012)

IMG_3494

7.  Spring Nesting (House of White Birches, March 2011)

spring nesting3

8.  Modern Country (Annies, November 2012)

IMG_4118

So, are you a bird person?  Are you a bird quilt person?  Can you use more bird quilts in your life?

Thanks for stopping by.  Please know that I always enjoy hearing from you even though I have been scarce lately.  I am in the midst of sewing up a storm — more details to follow.  Hugs and love to you all!!

18 thoughts on “Bird Watching: Sneak Peek #1

  1. Oh yes, big bird person. I feed them and love to watch them. I have bird fabrics, some have been used and most not. Great job!

  2. Ohhhhh Wendy, I love birdies. I adorrrre them. I used to make some from felt with embroidery and such. Made tons. Oh yours are just stunning.
    I saved your sweet email, I will respond soon.
    I have photos to share with you.
    I am excited about this new creation, lovely fabric!
    I cannot pick a favorite of your collection of amazing birdie quilts. they are so pretty.
    <3

  3. Love the RJR collection, Wendy, as well as all of your bird quilts. 16 degrees predicted as the low tonight–the furnace will be working overtime! And yes, I realize that would be a heat wave in some parts of the USA right now. Hmm, maybe Miss Baby is on to something!

  4. I am constantly amazed at your talent for putting patterns and colors together. I can’t wait to see each new quilt and be amazed at your work. Then you quilt it and I am amazed again. Thanks for each inspiration and the work you do.

  5. Thanks for sharing. Love Quilt’s Love Birds. You are an inspiration.
    Let’s all go somewhere out of this -15 below weather.
    Happy Sewing :-))

  6. I am smiling because Miss Baby is smart to want to go where it is warm. Actually, with all this below zero weather I have not seen many birds.

    Headed for a quilt retreat this weekend with my Guild and starting a new project.

  7. Hi Wendy Here, not too far from Gettysburg Pa., I enjoy feeding the birds that are out my kitchen window and sliding doors. With the snow on the ground and the frigid temps it is a feeding frenzy out there most days. I even feed woodpeckers peanuts in the shells in a suet feeder. They love that. In the summer our birdbath can be a popular place with sometimes 6 to 8 birds squeezing in and others on standby. And let’s not forget the hummingbirds. I love those little beauties. They are off right now at their winter home (wherever that might be, it is pretty cold everywhere this year). On the quilting side of things….I love love love your bird quilts. All the quilting is amazing as usual. The quilts are all so colorful. I can’t wait to see more. Miss Baby is a smart cookie wanting to fly off to warmer places. My husband and I are actually liking winter this year. It seems we so rarely have a real good winter anymore. It is a bit too cold though. Stay warm and thanks for sharing all your beautiful work with us.

  8. I love birds. But haven’t quilted any bird quilts yet. I think I know which fabric you’re using for your secret quilt. Nest by Alex Anderson! Can’t wait to see the complete quilt!

  9. Love the bird quilts you posted Wendy! Your birds have always inspired me. I hope you were able to checkout my Redbird and Berries Mini Quilt in the MBS and thanks so much for your Thread Talk that helped me through the quilting in that! You know me, I adore birds!

Leave a Reply

