Enchanted Forest in QUILT TRENDS (Winter 2014)

cover

Happy Monday, Friends!  I hope you are well.   Last Friday I showed you my Urban Stars quilt that is featured in the Winter 2014 issue of Quilt Trends.  Today, I am sharing with you Enchanted Forest, the other quilt that is shown in the same magazine, but the pattern instructions are available as a free pattern download here.

IMG_4348

Enchanted Forest uses large rectangles to effectively feature print fabrics, and thus making the quilt top construction quick and trouble-free.

Design 3d_redo1

Or, if you feel like doing a bit of applique to spice up the design, sprigs of leaves would add the visual effect!

Design 3d_redo2

Here are a couple more shots of the quilt.

IMG_4392

IMG_4377

If you have been visiting regularly, the fabrics used in Enchanted Forest shouldn’t been unfamiliar to you…. as I have ANOTHER magazine featured quilt also named Enchanted Forest, featured in QUILT August/September 2013.  Click here to view more picture. [Side note:   Do you remember I have also had two quilts named Farm Crossing (here and here), made with fabrics from the same collection?]

IMG_2323

The fabrics are from Silent Harmony by RJR Fabrics.  And you might recall I also designed a free to use pattern, Nature’s Harmony, for RJR using these same fabrics.  Click here for more information.

Design 5h_red_high res

Design 5h_blue_high res

So… back to the “Quilt Trends” Enchanted Forest… the quilt was quilted using Aurifil‘s Mako 50 cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting!  You can see that I quilted “swirly” trees amidst the random vertical straight lines on the quilt top to lend to the woodland feel…

IMG_4358

IMG_4354

And now, my favorite part of the quilt – the informal pseudo feathers quilted in contrasting thread on the outer border!!

IMG_4424

IMG_4357

You can read about my tutorial on the pseudo informal feathers here.  I hope you will get a feeling of how relatively simple it is to quilt these pseudo feathers from the tutorial, and if you try them out, I would love to hear what you think of them!

IMG_4344

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have enjoyed my latest Enchanted Forest quilt.  Quilt kits (quilt top and binding) are available for purchase for $44.99 from Fat Quarter Shop by clicking here.

IMG_4365

Have a great week, Dear Friends — but not before you tell me if you find forests enchanting in general! :)

***

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2014): Hurry Home

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Enchanted Forest

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Urban Stars

Quilter’s World (Spring 2014): Urban Oasis

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Farm Crossing

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Boxing Day

January Free Pattern: View on Lexington using Gramercy by Benartex

January Free Pattern: Everything’s Coming Up Rosey using English Rosey by Benartex

6 thoughts on “Enchanted Forest in QUILT TRENDS (Winter 2014)

  1. Forests are magical….especially on warm summer days when on a quiet walk in the morning with the moist fragrance of the mosses and the singing of the birds!!! And our little home is surrounded by 1700 acres of hardwood forest!!! Love it!!!!!

  2. Hi Wendy – thanks for another wonderful and simple quilt pattern. I love the fact that there isn’t a lot of piecing and that it has a neat appliqué ;). You are sew very talented. I can’t wait to try the pseudo informal feathers.

    About enchanted forests… I was lucky to have been raised to be comfortable in the outdoors – to hike and camp and love the forest. I grew up vacationing in primitive campsites of the Adirondack Mtns with my Dad and brothers. When I was out on my own I trailered my horses to those same childhood camping locations to camp and ride horseback. Needless to stay I LOVE walking, hiking and hanging out in the woods. The woods speak to me – its my place of peace and joy. Thanks for asking and for helping me bring the memories forward… Hugs, Karen

  3. Wendy! I love the Enchanted Forest and the quilting along the border is just fabulous!! Love the design and you have got me motidvated this morning. I have been under the weather for 6 weeks and back to my old self so I must get things rolling. I am working on a bed runner with YOYOs that has been on the back burner for- oh let’s say- 1 yr. or so! That is on my agenda this week. Happy and blessed week. Carol

  4. Good morning from COLD Beaverdam. I thank you for this free pattern, seems a good one to make in a kid friendly size with assorted kid fabric. Yes, I have 2 finishes for 2014, one bed quilt started around Thanksgiving, one a lap size made on new year’s day. Now I want to get back to the donation quilts for kids. blessings, Karen Arbaugh

Leave a Reply

