Solar Star Sneak Peek

Hello Friends, I will be spending the next 7-10 posting about my 2013 residual items.  Thanks for bearing with me.  With that in mind, I am sharing with you a sneak peek of Solar Star that I completed on December 30th.  It was shipped to deliver on the 31st.

IMG_4984

I went the extra mile on the yellow stripe sashing.  I hadn’t planned to quilt it, and it had looked like this… The buckling effect was quite unsightly.

IMG_4973

I am glad I made the decision to go the extra mile and quilted the sashing down.  Going the extra mile is my motto for 2014.  With God’s help, I hope by going the extra mile, I can excel and be better in the various areas of my life, quilting included.  I hopeful you would join me going the extra mile this coming year, and we will see what we can accomplish regarding that pile of UFO’s (unfinished objects), ha!

That’s all for today, Dear Friends.  If you in the path of winter storm Hercules, do stay safe and very warm!  All I can say is it is getting cooooold where I am at – keep in mind I grew up in the tropics.  Hugs to you all.  Till tomorrow!

21 thoughts on “Solar Star Sneak Peek

  1. I can’t wait to see the unveiling. What a nice bit of sunshine in this cold and blustery snow storm. I love your quilting.

  2. I love the sashing as you completed it!!! You would not survive with what is coming for us!!!! Sunday night and Monday night we are looking at a minus 30 to 35 degrees on the thermometer!!!! Wind chills will be in excess of -50F and there’s already talk of school closures for those days.
    I love your “theme phrase” for the upcoming year. I will put it with our daily devotions as a reminder every day!!!!! Hugs…..SSAB

  3. For the last several days I have loved all the quilt designs that you have made and WOW I don’t see how you do all that you do. You are amazing lady. God’s blessings through this New Yr. Carol

  4. Going the extra mile really paid off in this quilt. I can’t wait to see the big reveal.

    It does sound like you are in for a big storm back there. Stay safe and toasty. It’s definitely different than the tropics.

  5. Yes going the extra mile one day at a time lol. Lately I have been really trying to get my stitching mojo back after this move. I hope to do better at my handwork and free motion in 2014, hopefully without pressure. You are a wonderful inspiring young women for all of us.
    Bunny

  6. The “extra mile” worked wonders…..great decision!!! Although, in my eyes, I think that you always go the extra mile. Continue doing what you so beautifully do. Anxious to see that bit of sunshine in its entirety. Stay cozy and warm and safe.

  7. Yikes, I haven’t been listening to the news but Hercules doesn’t sound nice at all….
    Hope you all stay safe and warm.

  8. I like you Wendy had just thought of those UFO’s that I wanted to undertake this year, and my plan this evening is to organize what needs to be done and get to work on them, so I can start some exciting new projects. I will be happy in joining you in “going the extra mile”.

  9. The sashing worked out wonderfully Wendy! I’m liking the go the extra mile motto! I wanted to email you last night as I went the extra mike on some feathers I stitched up, I’m sew excited about them. Without your encouragement and awesome pictures and Thread Talk I wouldn’t be here. Thank you! I’m really looking forward to the extra mile this year! Hugs, Karen

  10. lovely yellow, Windy! The stripes sewn add nice texture. Going the extra mile sounds like your regular pace! But God will bless you for doing your best. Happy New Year ~
    :-}pokey

  11. Love the shashing. Sweetie, you excel in many, many areas of your life. With the snippets we see it is very evident. BTW we had 5 yr old Mr. B for a couple of days. He went home yesterday. I slept for 10 hours last night. LOL! Can you say Velcro? Now I know how that little loopy stuff feels. ;)

  12. Happy New Year to you and your family, Wendy. It’s pretty nice down here in Galveston. Sun is shining, still need to wear a jacket and yesterday was REALLY cold and no sun. The wind was the Chiller.

    I like your slogan. I’ve been trying to come it with one. Another friend is using “Get it done.” I’m still thinking. Right now with asthma racking my lungs, “go the extra mile” seems like climbing mt. Everest. So, I don’t think that one is for me, but I will journey with you on the UFO’s. I’m in the triple digits and the past two years that has been my focus. I’ve done 8 so STILL have a long way to go. I have 12 on my list for this year. I’ve retired from Real Estate and hope that gives me the extra time I need. But I’m doing some work for my husband, so, well, we’ll see.

    Love the Solar Star! It’s so bright and summery. Which is what I look forward to this time of year! Love your posts, sorry for not posting in a while!

    Mary :)

  13. I definitely like the look of the quilted stripes. Do you backtrack a little to make sure you hit the spot that was missed along the long edge? I have 2 UFO’s that need to be done. One is well on its way, the other is a queen quilt with only 1 block quilted. After about 16 years getting this done will be miraculous. I am going to give it a try this year.

  14. Thanks Wendy, for going the extra mile and sharing that buckled sashing. It’s a great lesson for us aspiring home quilters. So far I’ve never quilted anything as heavily as you do, but I’ll remember this visual for future projects. BTW, it’s very cold here today and our electric power was off for two hours last night. But hopefully, that is the worst of it! Blessings to you and your family!

  15. For just a minute I thought you had pieced that border!!! The quilting on it really gives it extra life!

    It will be a cold one here……wind chills of 30 below!! Thinking positive that means more time indoors to do quilting!!

    Happy New Year!!

  16. It’s difficult to find appropriate comments — I think of you as a ”marathon quilter’ already and cannot imagine that an extra mile is required! I can’t wait to see what’s coming. You are a lovely, sharing person and I am always grateful for you and your extraordinary work and insights. Thanks a million.

  17. The quilting on the yellow stripes really does make a difference.

    Wendy, you go so many miles already! :-) But I love that about you, that you don’t do just the minimum, you do what’s right and needed to make each piece its best.

Leave a Reply

