Happy 2014 & Giveaway!

Happy New Year, Friends!  Friends had asked if we did anything special for New Year’s Eve… we didn’t.  Both my husband and I ended up working.  The silver lining is that we will be doing something special on the 12th day of Christmas, weather permitting, to bring our Christmas celebration to a close.

stars

To celebrate New Year, Annie’s is doing a giveaway of my “Learn to Machine Quilt” class.  This class covers the basics, meant to jumpstart your machine quilting journey with the use of a small project.  I believe learning to move a quilt sandwich effectively and smoothly is the first step to quilting your own quilts.  The quilting motifs in this class are selected to help you learn moving your quilt sandwiches.  The class does not deal with issues quilting a larger quilt – that is meant for a more advanced class.

Learn to Machine Quilt

learn to quilt6

Learn to Quilt 2

Please leave a comment, between now and January 6th, 2014, and tell me your New Year machine quilting resolution(s) to enter the giveaway.

Click here, and here to see how students have quilted their class projects.

***

Before I leave, please allow me to share with you the encouragement from Psalm 103: 1-5:

“Bless the Lord, O my soul;

And all that is within me, bless His holy name.

QATB2c

Bless the Lord, O my soul,

And forget none of His benefits;

pomegranate8

Who pardons all your iniquities;

Who heals all your diseases;

Who redeems your life from the pit;

Thanksgiving Topper3

Who crowns you with loving kindness and compassion;

Who satisfies your years with good things,

So that your youth is renewed like the eagle.”

IMG_1966

It is my prayer that God will crown you with loving kindness and compassion this New Year!  Here is to another year of friendship, love and encouragement!  Blessings to you all from my little family.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

113 thoughts on “Happy 2014 & Giveaway!

  1. My New Year Quilting Resolution is to stop spending so much time in front of the computer and spend more time in front of the Bernina ! Hope I win, I would love to learn from you.

  2. Wow that’s going to be an awesome opportunity to learn machine quilting. I still stand at stippling or straight line quilting. Looking forward to learn to do feather and other detailed machine quilting . Thank you for the opportunity Wendy . Happy new year to you

  3. This is a wonderful opportunity for someone. I really admire your quilting. I want to do more quilting-I have tried feathers and they are ok, but nothing great. I would like to become somewhat proficient.

  4. Thank you for sharing your beautiful work and talent with us! May the Lord bless your New Year 2014 in amazing ways. Ps 103 is one of my favorites.

  5. In 2014, I am going to practice, practice, and practice my FMQ and finish up my UFO’s. This class would be a wonderful encouragement for these to get done. And for 2014 to remember and live by each day- Ephesians 2:8,9, and 10

  6. Happy New Year to you, Wendy!!! My goal is to make MORE quilts!! I want to be able to give to those in need.

    Loved Psalm 103, a great way to start a new year!!

  7. I resolve to become even more proficient with my HQ 16 and the Prostitcher program. In addition, I resolve to learn Art ‘ n’ Stitch to program my own designs.

  8. Thank you for showing us your wonderful quilting. I had been doing much of my own quilting until I broke my wrist. It’s been 13 weeks, I’m still in hand therapy and not allowed to quilt yet. I’m all out of practice now.

  9. My New Year resolution for fmq is to learn it, practice it and apply it. Even though i have made quilts, self taught, my sweet husband gave me for Christmas a six class making a quilt from beginning to finish. This includes fmq basics. I love your blog and learn many things from them. It would be great to learn more from you. Happy New Year with many blessing.

  10. I only know how to straight line quilt on my machine so my New Years resolution is to learn how to free motion quilt on it.

  11. I have set a goal to practice free motion quilting every week for at least 15 min. I think this is realistic.

  12. Happy New Year! I have a BSR that I have used only once in over 2 years. My goal is to get it out and use it! Thank you for sharing your creative talents with all of us!

  13. My goal is to actually do something more than straight lines or gentle curves on an actual quilt. I am on a quest to make twin bed quilts for the local domestic violence shelter and I expect that doing nothing but those two will drive nuts!

  14. My goal is simply to progress in my comfort and skill levels. I did your tutorial on the 2012 Free Motion quilting project, and loved it!

  15. I would love to learn to machine quilt properly. My resolution is to be a lot more adventurous. I CAN do something more than “stitch in the ditch” which is what I do at the moment.

  16. My 2014 Goal is to find more time for quilting and to improve my machine quilting skills.

  17. For 2014 my goal is to expand the comfort zone in design- got feathers down – now need to move on to others design.

  18. My plan for 2014 is to slow down and make more time for quilting. Practice Practice and more, the samples are beautiful, it sure does make the quilts.

  19. My goal is to get the quilts out of the UFO basket and actually get them quilted so I can hang them on the wall. I’m going to start with the smaller ones, and by the time I get to the queen size quilt I’m working on, I should feel more comfortable with the process.

  20. That is my favorite Psalm Wendy – thank you for sharing it, especially with all those lovely quilts to go along with it :) I hope you and your family enjoy all of the blessings you have wished on us. I’ve so enjoyed getting to know you and sharing our love of God and quilts!

    My quilting plans for 2014 include getting as many of my UFO flimsies quilted up as possible! Some of them will go on the longarm when my friend has a free day for me to borrow it. But most of them will be done on my domestic machine. I enjoy the process but there is still so much I need to learn!!! It would be awesome to learn from The Best!

    Hugs & Blessings for 2014!!!

  21. Thank you for this chance. I have a Tiara…sit down long arm machine…love it.
    I hope to get more relaxed machine quilting; I am a long time hand quilter; finding it difficult to FMQ.

  22. Your work is amazing and your website an inspiration! My goal is to try to get in at least a little quilting practice every day. Thanks for your generous sharing of ideas, techniques, and positive outlook on life in general!

  23. Happy New Year to you and your family, Wendy! Thanks for sharing the Psalm–such encouraging words. My quilting goals for this year include finishing my daughter and son-in-law’s wedding quilt (they’ve been married 2 1/2 years,) make a welcome baby quilt for our as-yet unborn 1st grandchild, improve my fmq, and attempt to get a quilt juried into a national show. Guess I’d better get to it!

  24. My 2014 goal is to get my rather large “To Be Quilted” stack quilted and finished! Also, I want to continue to take what I’ve learned to do on my domestic machine and transfer that skill to the longarm .

  25. Wow what a great give-away. I have numerous “tops” some very intricate waiting to be quilted. I haven’t gained the confidence to tackle them yet. So my resolution for 2014 is to move forward since I am stalled now on quilting my own quilts on my domestic/bernina machine.

  26. My plan is to learn more designs, create more designs, and practice them. My feathers are improving, so I want to continue to improve. Thanks for the designs and inspiration. Happy and Blessed New Year to you, too.

  27. Bless you too my friend — what a touching post — thank you for the blessings. Since I’ve already taken (and thoroughly enjoyed) your Annie’s Class no need to enter me into the drawing – I’ll give my slot to someone who hasn’t benefited from this wonderful class yet. My machine quilting goal for this year is to do more with Feathers and threads that accentuate the quilting design — along with improving my design within a design of negative space. Whew — I’d better get started! With quilty hugs, Karen

  28. I am ready to begin my new challenge of actually quilting a large quilt. I have read, watched videos and practiced and now I just need to tackle it. Thanks so much for all your advice.

  29. I would love to win this class, I have tried to free motion quilt, with no success. I have a few quilts that I need to do. This would definitely help me to complete those and maybe do some more. Thank you for the chance to win.

  30. Oh if only I could build up some confidence and skill so I could do some real machine quilting. Wendy does the most beautiful artistic designs! Would love to learn from the master!

  31. I plan to quilt at least one UFO a month. Many were class samples that I did not quilt so I could show the unfinished back of appliqué or when special pressing was needed in a pieced sample.

    I only learned the very basics of machine quilting. It is much more complex today and much more desirable.

  32. My New Years resolution is to be abel to quilt more of my own quilts!! I would love to win this class to help me achieve my resolution.

  33. What a fun way to begin the New Year as the winner of your class. I participated in it last year and learned lots. Good luck to the winner. Wendy, Happy New Year to you and your little family. Looking forward to a productive 2014. Love n Hugs, Joyce

  34. My goal is to finish quilting all the UFO’s that have accumulated over the years. The stack keeps getting higher, and I need to head for the finish line. It would be awesome if I could quilt them with just 1/8th the beauty that you do!!

  35. My goal is to improve my machine quilting skills. I bought a new Bernina with a stitch regulator, I have experimented with it twice and it’s rather scary to me but I know that continued practice is what I need to do. I love your gorgeous feathers on your quilts, they are so beautiful!

  36. I finally was able to get my quilter fixed. And am going to put it to good use this year. Quilts waiting and anxious to be quilted. Need to start using my regular sewing machines for quilting too. A very Happy New Year to you and yours.

    Love Psalm 105. Inspiring.

    Kathlene

  37. My resolution is to do more of my own machine quilting. I to to practice, practice, practice. I can tell I’m getting better, but still have so much more to learn. Happy New Year! Love your beautiful quilts.

  38. My goal is to up my machine quilting game — more intricate, more precise, more diverse, and more interesting designs. More is More !

  39. I retired in Sept and the retirement goal was to learn how to free motion quilt on my domestic….it has not happened. I get so frustrated! But I will keep trying. Thanks for a chance and Happy New Year

  40. Wendy: Blessings to you and your family. I have signed up for your class and its great. I just need to practice more. Is there any chance that you might do another class, maybe on feathers, I would love it if you did. I love feathers and yours are just beautiful. HAPPY & HEALTHY NEW YEAR to you.

  41. It was a quiet new years for us as well – and most welcomed!! I really need to work on my tensions with the different threads. I know that would help my quilting skills.

    I wish you many blessings in 2014, Wendy.

  42. Oh, my, I would love to achieve results in my machine quilting similar to the pictures above. Thank you for sending the Psalm my way to get the New Year started right!

  43. Wow! How I wish I could quilt like the pictures in the post. I have donated a quilt the last 2 years for our church youth group to auction off to raise money for their mission trip. They are returning to Pine Ridge South Dakota which will be there 3rd year. Quilting like what is in the blog would help the cause. Thank you for the chance to enter. Gaile

  44. Sorry you and your hubby had to work on NYE. Not fun at all.

    I have several quilty goals for 2014, one is to continue to learn/improve my FMQ skills, but I also want to slow down and work on my precision piecing skills. I think it was when you made that quilt with well over 400 HST triangles that I thought “I really need to work on my piecing skills so I could tackle such a project”. Maybe one day you’ll teach a precision quilting class too!

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  45. Loved that you quoted scripture. Have taken some classes but this looks wonderful. I actually might get something done. This post is a first for me.

  46. Thanks for a chance at a give away! Would love to get better at FM quilting.
    God is good all the time. All the time God is good.

  47. I am trying to learn how to machine quilt. feathers just are a mystery to me no matter how hard I try, if I could just get over the hump with these I would be thrilled in 2014! thank you for the chance to win a class.
    Mary

  48. I can’t believe you do all that beautiful quilting on a domestic machine. I would love to learn how to do that. I’ve tried, but don’t have any control! My goal this year is to learn how to machine quilt and have nice round feathers. Thanks for the opportunity.

  49. I have many items from table runners to full size quilts that have finished tops. Unfortunately, that is where they stop. I am not a machine quilter and I can’t always have them quilted professionally done. I like to tell people that I hate the quilting part, but in reality, I hate yo practice. I am an instant gratification kind of gal and practice, practice doesn’t fall under this category. So for 2014, I plan to get off my butt and learn how to machine quilt and practice and continue to practice until I know what I am doing and then will practice some more.

  50. I think that my biggest machine quilting goal is to figure out how to do it comfortably in my big truck! I would be very happy if I could sew on the road lol. Thank you for sharing your quote Wendy. Happy New Year to you and your family!

  51. To Free Motion Quilt with grace and with ease,
    will be my resolution in 2014 please.
    I am ready to “learn the techniques to succeed
    with free-motion machine quilting” class that I need.
    So Wendy, I am eager to learn and ready to grow
    from the basics you’ll teach and the techniques that you know.

  52. My main quilting goal is to quilt! I need more instruction but also or maybe even more than that I need to quilt. Your lessons would be great to win. Thanks for putting my name in the hat for your drawing!

  53. I have a midarm Nolting Funquilter, but I have never mastered doing free motion on a domestic sewing machine. I’d love to try one more time!

  54. Wendy, thanks for the quilting class and thanks for the prayer… I need both.
    You asked about my New Year’s resolution..well, finding time to quilt is so important to me…

  55. My FMQ goal for 2014 is to improve my feathers and spirals. I always meander and I need to learn other quilting motifs. Thank you for the opportunity or chance to win, and thank you for sharing all of your work, which truly inspires me.

  56. There is so much I want to learn with free motion. Would really like to learn feathers, they seem so elusive to me. And, of course, just finding more time to practice. Love your blog, your quilting is an inspiration!

  57. I hope that you have a wonderful year! My New Year resolution is to improve my machine quilting skills. So, your giveaway is a perfect way to start! Thanks!

  58. My goal is to enjoy the process of FMQing, relax, and giggle more at my mistakes because they are what help me learn! And I will read my scriptures more as well!

  59. My goal is to stop letting my fear of machine quilting cause me to procrastinate on finishing all my UFO’S! Thanks for the giveaway and Happy New Year!

  60. I would like to finish things that I start. I have a lot of UFOs that don’t even deserve to be called WIPs because they are so long forgotten.

  61. Yesterday I pulled out tracing paper and started planning designs for one of my quilts. I’m hoping to do that for most of my quilt projects. I find that if I trace on the main part of the design I’m not scared to put the first stitch in.

  62. I let my machine quilting kind of go by the wayside in 2013 when I went back to work. I want to try to do one learning practice piece a month for 2014.

  63. I have a bunch of quilt tops that have been waiting for me to feel confident enough to quilt them. I’m getting there and, this year, I have resolved to feel the fear and do it anyway. Winning your giveaway could really help me on this path.

  64. My goal for 2014 is to learn to free motion quilt with CONFIDENCE! I get so caught up in the fear of doing right (or maybe wrong) that I never do a job that I would be proud of, and if it’s a gift, I go back to stitch in the ditch … Thanks for the opportunity to better my skills :)

  65. My new year stitching resolution is to rent time on a local store’s long arm quilter. I would love to learn the machine and hopefully finish a few of my many quilt tops. Happy New Year!

  66. My goal for 2014 is to learn all I can about FMQ. I have done some FMQ but still not getting it right. To win this class would be great and learn everything I need to know of FMQ. Thanks for a great giveaway.

  67. My new years resolution is to daily take the expensive vitamins my husband bought for me instead of leaving them sitting on the counter! Thus, I will feel better and be able to sew more!!

  68. i celebrated the start of 2014 by purchasing a sit down long arm! i am feeling hopeful that i will be able to supplement my income doing what i love…quilting! love your blog, and your prayer. happy new year

  69. I just finished my very first quilt! I’m very intimidated to do the incredibly gorgeous quilting you do, but I would love to try! My goal is to make at least two more quilts – one for myself and one for my son.

  70. Since I am a beginner at doing my own quilting, some of my goals/New Years Resolutions are to become better with different techniques, to practice these quilting techniques so that I become more confident and to not hesitate to challenge myself. I truly want to learn to become better and more skillful while enjoying my sewing passion!! :)

  71. My goal is to machine quilt a “winter” quilt for my husband, he has seen so many quilts go out to others in our family and our friends and never complains that he does not have a quilt, it is time to finish one for him!

  72. I have pieced a number of quilt tops that need to be sandwiched and quilted. I feel strongly about making my quilts from start to finish. My New Year’s Resolution is to learn machine quilting techniques that will make it possible for me to complete my quilts. After reading your bible quote I realize that I have it in me to succeed. I am hopeful that I will be fortunate enough to win your machine quilting class and accomplish my quilting goals for 2014..

  73. I completed my first quilt ever 2 years ago after an accident – I needed to learn a new skill while recovering and unable to work.. – . Quilting on the first quilt was stitch in the ditch. Now 2 years on and Several quilts later – I have a fabric stash, new sewing machine and – I am now doing free motion quilting or least trying to free motion quilt.. I am very much a beginner. I am so pleased I came across your web site this week while researching free motion quilting. You have given me the inspiration and zeal to work outside my comfort zone. I do practice samples – but much rather just get on with the free motion on the quilt.
    My goal and resolutions for 2014 – is reduce the ufos’ and also design quilt tops using fabric from my stash. But the main aim is to keep learning and expanding my free motion work on my domestic machine – so much to learn – this gives me great joy and I spring out of bed every morning to see what I can achieve with my sewing that day. I also want to make quilts this year for fund raising at my church and the aged home that cares for my Mother – my mother is a beautiful and caring person who now had severe dementia.
    My other goal is to learn appliqué quilt making.
    But I must have time to enjoy the company of my friends. The time spent chatting over a coffee with friends is always a highlight of my day.

  74. You always do amazing work! Such talent ! Still trying to learn how to do it proper… You know
    what they say about teaching old new tricks! Have a happy one.. Stay warm and well..

  75. My 2014 machine quilting resolution is probably ridiculously unrealistic, but you have to start with a goal. My resolution is to dig into that UFO pile of mine and get comfortable once more with machine quilting on my home-bound Bernina. I’ve done it before, I can do it again. I will overcome my anxiety and quilt up, both happily and successfully, my giant stash of quilt tops. Creativity knows NO bounds. Have a happy new year! Thanks.

  76. I have practiced some on small sandwiches but now I need to get to it…. Many quilts to get quilted…. I could use the help and inspiration from this class.

  77. I have admired quilts for so long that I want to learn how to make quilts this year. This class would really boost me along.

Comments are closed.