I am starting something new…

… with these fabrics from RJR Fabrics’ Holiday Dreams fabric line.  Click here to view the full fabric range.

IMG_2303

It’s funny how I don’t really think of myself as a “black” person when it comes to Christmas colors… but the proof is in the pudding as I looked back at my past Christmas quilts.

Starry Pursuit (Fons and Porter Easy Quilts, Winter 2011, Cover Quilt)

starry-pursuit3

Christmas Cheer (Quilter’s World, December 2009)

christmas-cheer9

Christmas Hospitality (Quilter’s World’s A Quilted Christmas, Fall 2011)

Hospitality2

Holiday Spinners (The Quilter, Holiday 2011)

holiday-spinners7

Coxcombs and Berries (The Quilter, December 2011/January 2012) – the “black” actually has a midnight blue hue in this quilt

coxcomb-berries72

How about you?  Do you use any black in your Christmas quilts?  What are your favorite colors for Christmas quilts?

Thanks for stopping by.  Blessings to you all.

17 thoughts on “I am starting something new…

  1. I’ve used black holiday prints in a couple of quilts, primarily with the gold metallic on top of the black. Also a very dark green. But it is funny, as I tend to think I don’t use black in Christmas quilts. Hadn’t really thought about it till your post. Interesting to see how you used black, but very much an accent. All look great. I do so love your Coxcombs and Berries.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  2. “Starry Pursuit” is one of my faves! I so agree with Peg…black adds so much richness. It’s either that or a very deep cranberry/wine. That new line from RJR is certainly an interesting color combo for the Christmas season…hmmm?

  3. I tend to not use black. When I do I am amazed at how it makes other fabrics pop. I don’t think of it as a Christmas color. I seem to use more greens, reds, and golds for Christmas quilts. Maybe I better check my Christmas quilts to see if this is really true.

  4. One of the first Christmas collections I bought a few years back was a Mary Engelbreit, which naturally had some black in it. Come to think of it…don’t think I’ve ever made what I had in mind for that! Ah….one day it will get made!

  5. wow…lovely to see new christmas fabric collection. .you have used black fabric to enhance the beauty of other christmas prints…and that is absolutely perfect

  6. Love black fabric in my quilts….any quilts, including baby quilts! It is my favorite neutral and one of my most frequently used colors. They are a good accent for Christmas quilts. My fave Christmas quilt of your is the Coxcomb and Berries, even though the black is a deep navy blue. close enough for me!
    Have a delightful weekend!
    donna j from KS

  7. I love black in Christmas quilts. I think old world charm when I see black along with greens, reds and golds! My favorites.

  8. I just quilted one of my Mom’s Chrismas quilt tops that she used back in the sashing between the blocks. I then bound it in black Kona. I think it really set off/framed the Christmas fabrics nicely.
    Have a great day.
    Always, Queenie

  9. Love, love, love the way black/red/cream/green play together. Holiday Spinners is my favorite quilt and everyone who has seen the one I made thinks it’s stunning too. Thanks to Wendy’s great dersign!

  10. Hi Wendy. I have been trying to find the Christmas Hospitality quilt pattern that was in the Quilter’s World’s a quilted Christmas, fall 2011. How can I get this pattern?
    I love all your work. It never ceases to amaze me. Keep up the good work girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

