Yay Day in Quilt-it… today (July/August 2013)

cover250

Hello Friends!  It’s good to have you visit again.  I am not sure if you are familiar with Quilt-it… today magazine.  This magazine is only recently introduced to the market, and sold at an affordable price.  I am sharing with you my YAY DAY quilt that is featured in the July/August 2013 issue of Quilt- it… Today.

yay day 300dpi[image source:  Quilt-it...today]

This is a horizontal strip quilt using organic cotton prints from Birch’s Yay Day Collection.  Click on fabric collection name to view the full range of fabrics.  Click here to purchase the fabrics from Fabric Worm.

IMG_4942

Here are a few shots of the quilt where you can see the horizontal strip layout a little better:

IMG_1871

IMG_1868

IMG_1875

The pieced blocks in this quilt are framed blocks that are super easy to construct.

IMG_1870

IMG_1876

Quilting was done to match the horizontal strip layout of the quilt using straight line and machine “fly” stitching.  Quilting was done using Aurifil Mako 50 cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

IMG_1877

IMG_1885

IMG_1885

This is what the back looks like.  Incidentally, the backing fabric is my favorite from the collection.

IMG_1881

IMG_1879

I hope you enjoyed my Yay Day quilt.  If you like the quilt, I am curious what you liked about it – fabrics, designs, quilting, anything!

Have a lovely rest of the day, and great week ahead!

***

My 2013 lineup thus far besides “Yay Day” – click on project names for more information:

Annie’s Love Those Precuts Book (January 2013):  Apple of My Eye

Annie’s Sweet Layer Cakes Book (April 2013): Sunburst Melody

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Curious Cats

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Fabrique Foursome

Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting (March/April 2013):  Now I know my ABC’s

Machine Quilting Unlimited (March/April 2013): Quilting Curvy Feathers

QUILT (June/July 2013): Color Burst

QUILT (June/July 2013): Pattern Play

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilts and More (Spring 2013): 2 Wishes

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World (April 2013): Monkey Around

Quilter’s World (Summer 2013): Garden Mist, to be posted

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Simple Quilts & Sewing (Spring 2013):  Stained Glass

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

The Quilter (April/May 2013):  In the Meadow

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Flora Linda/Catalina

Lecien Free Pattern, Lynette Anderson (April 2013):  Forest Floor/Wildflower Wood

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

RJR Fabrics Free Pattern (May 2013): Nature’s Harmony/Silent Harmony

21 thoughts on “Yay Day in Quilt-it… today (July/August 2013)

  1. The fabric is absolutely DARLING and I love the simplistic straight stitch quilting. The orange (and white) horizontal strips make it POP, Wendy! I love it.

  2. Adorable! My fav is the backing too. Never heard of that magazine. Good old WM doesn’t carry many quilt mags, maybe 3.

  3. This is so adorable! I love it! I really like how you added the decorative stitch for quilting! I have been thinking of doing that on one of my baby quilts for a while now.

  4. I like the backing best too. Hmmm thought I posted but not here. You do such darling quilts. But the quilt is awesome!

  5. Sometimes the basic stitches are the best! With this fabric, its a perfect combination!!! The first thing I thought when I saw the first picture was “peaceful”. Can’t think of a better word to describe a baby quilt.

  6. I have spotted that publication but I’m trying to cut back on my “magazine consumption”………and this is not helping!!!!!!! Line stitching……yippee!!! Movin’ on over to the “Modern” side!! Hehe!! Seriously though, this is truly a sweet finish and the simple quilting makes it even more adorable! I am so in love with all the fabrics that have these woodsy little critters on them and that backing is a great example of this!!! Definitely a winning combo!!! Hugs, SSAB

  7. I love the backing fabric too…but from the front…I love the outer borders; it’s the perfect frame for a sweet little quilt!

  8. I loved the fabrics Wendy, and I can see why you called it “Yay-Day”. But what encouraged me is that you used straight quilting. I am still a little nervous doing the feathers etc. But this quilt looked great with the straight stitiching. Thank you, Jo-.

  9. I am not familiar with this magazine, but I will be on the look-out for it. Cute quilt. The fabric and quilting definitely go together.

  10. Wendy, I have to say that I was a bit skeptical when I saw the sneak peek of the fabric, but it is Adorable, yes, with a capital A.

  11. I love everything about it, so I can’t separate the components as thry all complement each other.
    Thanks for all you share.
    Phyllis

  12. So far have not seen this magazine at my local book seller, but I will keep looking. I love the backing fabric!! Love the simple straight line quilting!

    Great job, Wendy!!

  13. The fabric is adorable! I like that the pattern is simple and it appears to be designed to be able to enjoy the fabric design. The quilting is very complimentary to the overall design. All in all….it’s a great project!

  14. Thanks for another great design, Wendy! I was shopping just a couple days ago, and saw this new quilt magazine on the stands at my local Sam’s Club.. Ibought it because it had many cute patterns, and it was so affordable. Imagine my surprise this morning, when i see that you have designed it! I had not noticed your name in the article, and had only briefly scanned the magazine and marked that particular pattern. I am looking for something to make for an expected July grandbaby (gender neutral- sex unknown), and…voila! Your Yay Day jumped out at me. After reviewing closer this a.m. … I love the simple horizontal quilting lines, with the fly pattern mixed in. Having your close up pics here will help me in that process a lot. I can quilt that myself! I always love your patterns, and YOU! Thanks again and sending hugs, Debbie in AR

  15. The quilt is very cute, Wendy. I like the fabrics and their colors, but I also like the quilting you did on it. Straight lines look perfect with the design.

  16. Your quilt is absolutely adorable!! Just what I was looking for to make for my new grandbaby!! To be honest, your quilt should’ve been the COVER of that magazine!! Seriously, they would be flying off the shelves!! I ordered my copy but can you let us know the fabric requirements for the quilt so i can order them ahead of time?? That would be great!! Thanks so much for a great project and sharing it with us! Hugs, Ruth Wright

Leave a Reply

