Color Burst in QUILT (June/July 2013)

CoverWEB

Happy Friday, Friends!  I hope you have had a good week.  As promised, I am sharing with you my “Color Burst” quilt that is featured in the latest QUILT magazine issue (June/July 2013).

IMG_1405

I nicknamed this quilt my “Iron Man” quilt because I felt like the Iron Man after making hundreds and hundreds of half-square-triangle units in order to finish the quilt top.

IMG_1403

IMG_1438

The little HST units finish at 1.5″ — and I don’t even like piecing!

IMG_4736

IMG_1424

IMG_1427

Here is a little behind-the-scene tidbit… In order for me to make the photo shoot, I completed that quilt from start to finish in about 5 days!  Sometimes I really think I have a screw loose somewhere… ha!

IMG_1433

Here you can see the very clever quilt layout better – and see the pinwheel secondary pattern.

Block Party2b_high res

All that said, this quilt was made with lots of affection because the design is based on an actual quilt in the DAR collection, shown in the following. Click here for the technical information.  So, can you imagine having to piece all those blocks by hand, as done by the un-named original quilt maker?  What a heroine she was!!

Original DAR Quilt

[image source: Quilt Index]

And you know I love re-making historical quilts with our contemporary palettes.  I feel connected to quilters of the past when I work on such quilt projects.  It is my way of paying tribute to the women that have gone before us generations ago for their contribution in the rich American quilting heritage.

IMG_1311

I used Thimbleberries’ Block Party fabrics (by RJR) for my interpretation of the design for a sweet vintage flair.  Click here to view the full fabric range.  I love how the fabrics end up giving a spring palette to the overall quilt design.

Block party

It was a little nerve wrecking working on a borderless on-point quilt because the pieces of the large HST units at the edge were cut on the bias.  I was scared to death the quilt top was going to turn out wonky.  I press-starched the fabric stiff before cutting to avoid the distortion in the cutting and piecing processes.  That seemed to take care of the stretching on the bias problem, because my quilt top laid flat upon completion.

IMG_1286

Quilting was kept very simple to keep the “antique” look – just quilting in the ditches along major straight lines.  As always, I used Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads to quilt over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.  Now that the quilt is returned to me… my little pea brain has been toying with the idea of going back to quilt the open area with feathers (of course!).

IMG_1319

Honestly, as much as I am not crazy about piecing… I told the editor I would make the quilt AGAIN in a heartbeat using just red and white fabrics.  All that to say, those HST units shouldn’t deter you from attempting this quilt.  It is actually quite relaxing because there isn’t much variation to the piecing – just piece maybe a block a day, and don’t complete the entire quilt in 5 days like I did.  Kits to replicate Color Burst are available for purchase here.

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope you liked my springy Color Burst quilt!  Have a great weekend.

***

Click here, and here for my other contemporary interpretations of antique quilts.

***

Click here, here, here, here and here for my posts on DAR quilts.

***

My 2013 lineup thus far besides “Color Burst” – click on the links for more information:

Annie’s Love Those Precuts Book (January 2013):  Apple of My Eye

Annie’s Sweet Layer Cakes (April 2013): Sunburst Melody, to be posted

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Curious Cats

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Fabrique Foursome

Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting (March/April 2013):  Now I know my ABC’s

Machine Quilting Unlimited (March/April 2013): Quilting Curvy Feathers

QUILT (June/July 2013): Pattern Play, to be posted

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilts and More (Spring 2013): 2 Wishes

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World (April 2013): Monkey Around

Quilter’s World (Summer 2013): Garden Mist, to be posted

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Simple Quilts & Sewing (Spring 2013):  Stained Glass

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

The Quilter (April/May 2013):  In the Meadow

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Flora Linda/Catalina

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

27 thoughts on “Color Burst in QUILT (June/July 2013)

  1. I took one look at that one in the magazine and said “no way”! Actually, (for me) it would be a do-able thing in one color and white (or some such). The “multi” idea just isn’t ‘me’. And your feather idea is one that I had when opening the pages…….you go, girl! (Maybe in your, um,………… ‘spare’ time???) We are still in the ugly midst of that winter storm……pouring rain on snow and 33F!!!!! Words fail me!! This post brings a bit of Springtime to this sad place………sigh…

  2. The quilt turned out beautiful. What a great place to take pictures of the quilt, because the natural setting just enhanced all the colors. Great job, but done in 5 days? What an accomplishment!

  3. It’s gorgeous Wendy!!! I love that your quilts all have their own flavor and design. With some designers you can tell immediately as soon as you see it that it is theirs. Brava to have braved all those little HST’s when you don’t even like to piece :*D

  4. By hand? I can’t imagine by machine. Too many little pieces for me but it is gorgeous! And with a small child too, how do you do it!

  5. Wendy, five days??? Maybe you have got a screw loose………just kidding, haven’t all quilters when we set our minds to something?
    So very pretty, I see you wanting to put feathers in those ‘open’ spaces.

  6. Colorburst is a perfect name for this cheerful quilt that does “burst” with beautiful colors. I do remember when you were sewing oodles of HST. All your points look great. I hope you one day do make this quilt design again in red/white. Definitely worth making this beautiful design again. Love it.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  7. How gorgeous this quilt is!! I would not have the patience to do this quilt but I sure do love it and red and white–even navy and white would be pretty. Thank you so much for sharing. Carol

  8. I picked up this magazine to keep occupied for a long car ride. In just flipping through I immediately spotted this as a “must spend some time with” quilt. You are a talented artist designer, and craftsman with a wonderful eye for color and geometric shapes. Lovely!

  9. Five DAYS?!! That would take me five MONTHS! For someone who dislikes piecing, you sure do it well. This is a beautiful quilt, and the soft colors remind me of an ice cream social. :-)

  10. 5 days? That’s a miracle to me! That’s a lot of hst. You must have been cross-eyed by the time it was done. It is beautiful, though! This is a kind of modern I can get behind.

  11. I guess you can say I cheat with HST. I am likely to make this quilt because of the small pieces. I use the paper method, Triangulations to make them. Beautiful…and yes to the feathers :)

Leave a Reply

