Woodland Harmony: Sneak Peek #1

Hi Friends, thanks again for stopping by.  I was actually going to share with you a recent magazine featured quilt, but it is still a little too nippy for me to venture outside for some outdoor shots.  But I really think the quilt deserves to be photographed outdoors.  The sun is out today, but the blowing wind… maybe tomorrow.

For now, I will show you a sneak peek of what I’ve been working on…

IMG_4989

Joan always comments how I work with tiny patches.  While I don’t particularly enjoying piecing, I do have a penchant for coming up with designs with MANY tiny pieces (must be a disease) – like that one tiny white square there.  Anyone cares to take a guess what the finished size that square is?  Keep in mind I don’t make miniature quilts — so, a 1/4″ finished size for that square is automatically ruled out. :)  The first correct guesser will receive a spool of my favorite piecing thread.

Thanks for stopping by.  I shall chat with you again tomorrow.

43 thoughts on “Woodland Harmony: Sneak Peek #1

  1. Well, dang, I am the 4th one with this guess, so I won’t win, but I think it is 3/4″.
    I can’t wait to see the whole thing.

  2. Well imagine my surprise to see me mentioned there… and the funny thing is, that before I read what you had written about, I was looking at the piecing and thinking – Oh my goodness – Wendy has done it again :) I would say 1/2 inch, cause I know how small you go to at times.. I look forward to seeing the rest of this quilt to see how many small squares are in the total :)

  3. I’m going with an 8 inch finished block. One inch for each of the whites and reds to complete the size. And, Wendy, the wind you are getting now is probably what we had 3 hours ago in northern Wisconsin. It just won’t quit blowing.

  4. How about 1 1/8 x 7/8? It appears to be rectangular……..I’m visiting in TN, it’s cold here today. It is supposed to drop about 30 degrees tonight, maybe snow…

  5. I’m going with 1 1/2″ square… seems to match the border around the red…Cant wait to hear what the actual size is!

Leave a comment