Joyce says it works – it really must!

Creativity loves company!  I count myself blessed being surrounded with creative friends like you!  One of my creative friends is Joyce from the West Coast.  Joyce, a fellow “Bernina girl”, is a prolific quilter who has much more quilting experience than I do.  So, I have enjoyed corresponding with Joyce when time allows, and Joyce has been most gracious to share with me her quilting experience.

Today, I am most happy to share with you a pillow Joyce made recently.  Just look at the awesome-ness!   The pillow is approx. 25″ square.

pillow1

Joyce’s pillow is a raw-edge appliqué pillow.  Each of the flowers was cut out from a floral fabric.  The pieces were then pinned in place, and not fused. Then she free motioned around the flowers with matching threads, as well as a bit of thread painting on the flowers.

pillow2

pillow6

This is what Joyce wrote: ” When I got to the pillow making I was going to make cording but was hesitant, it just did not seem right.  Then I got the idea to just bind it like a regular quilt.  I thought that binding was similar enough to cording but way easier to do.  I used your method and was delighted.  I also inserted a 1/4 inch flange (the dark green) before applying the binding.”  I chuckled at her specific instruction to “be sure to notice the perfect binding.”  Let’s take a look at the binding, shall we?  And while you are at it, see if you couldn’t spot that adorable ladybug.  I think the binding and the flange look simply awesome!

pillow4

I am so glad my binding tip worked out for Joyce!!!  Thanks for inspiring us, with your gorgeous work Joyce!  And I want to thank you all for stopping by.  It looks like it is a cold weekend for me where I live – perfect to be stuck inside the house and catch up with work that I put off while I was sick last month and earlier this week, eh?  It is going to be a work marathon for sure.  Have a great weekend, you all!  I will have more readers’ projects to share with you next week.  You come back, k?

19 thoughts on “Joyce says it works – it really must!

  1. So eye catching and lovely. Joyce is very talented to put this together. I love her choice of fabric for the vase – she is not afraid of color. Wendy, your work too is beautiful.

  2. What a beautiful breath of spring while snowstorms are blowing all around! Thank you for sharing this gorgeous pillow. I never knew raw-edge appliqué could look this good. I love the look of your flanged, perfect binding, Joyce!

  3. This is very lovely! Does Joyce have a blog that we can visit? Her pillow is so gorgeous I surely would like to see her other works. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Oh, no! Another new inspiration to try to do! Beautiful pillow, Joyce! And I’m a sucker for flowers, neat way to use pretty fabric. Thanks!

  5. Beautiful pillow .. Kudos to Joyce! love the binding instead of cording.. with a flange for added interest…. so simple, but so great! Why didn’t anyone think of that before? I’m trying that on my next pillow for sure :)

  6. Thank you Wendy, for sharing my pillow with your many readers. It was a fun, no fail, project. Best of all, it was a great way for me to try your superb binding technique. Thanks for sharing it with all of us. And……….many thanks for the many kind comments posted by your readers.

  7. What a lovely pillow! I love the idea of the binding. I spend more time on the binding than I do on the entire pillow or now I can say I used to spend more time. Great ideas ladies!

  8. Pingback: Joyce’s quilt made from Annie’s “Learn to Machine Quilt” Class & Giveaway | Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Announcing PLAIN & FANCY: A Quilting Treasures BOM Program | Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: Joyce’s Song of Praise Pillow | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

