New life in QUILTER’S WORLD (February 2013)

current_issue

Hello Friends… I am very excited to share with you my “New Life” quilt! This quilt is featured in Quilter’s World‘s February 2013 issue.

New Life

This is another of my “dressing up the panel quilt” project!  The quilt center is a panel, entirely.  I thought the multiple borders together made this panel quilt the sweetest!  Click here to read about my the value of panels in one of my Thread Talk posts.  You may also click here to see my “A Tale as Tall as a Tree” panel quilt.

NewLifeA

[image source:  Quilter’s World]

I use fabrics from Riley Blake’s Woodland Tails for this quilt.  Click here to view the full range of the fabrics.  I think the fabrics are getting a little hard to find.  You might want to buy up what you can if you think you will be likely to use these fabrics for future projects.

IMG_0110

Seriously, just look at that brown mini polka dot fabric!  I love all the prints in this collection, but that brown polka dot fabric has a sweet spot in my heart.

IMG_2294

The most fun part of me in making the quilt is, you guessed right, quilting the quilt!  I knew feathers were going on the negative space of that panel as soon as I saw it.  The geometric makeup of those “circular blocks” helped me decide that wreaths would be the way to go.

new life panel

You can see how the feather wreaths play out in the following image:

IMG_0114

IMG_0131

Quilting was done using Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batt.  You will definitely see the before and after quilting in the following images:

IMG_2306

IMG_2322

Here are a few more close-up shots.  You can see within the individual circular blocks, I outlined quilted along certain details, and added squigglies here and there to add a bit of whimsical interest to the blocks.  Outline quilting panel details is a GREAT way to practice moving your quilt sandwiches for ensure accurate quilting!

IMG_0124

IMG_0123

IMG_0132

The feather wreaths were free-handed.  Click here if you are interested in how I quilted them.

IMG_0134

I hope you have enjoy these cute little creatures!  I am reminded of words in the popular British hymn “All Things Bright and Beautiful.” Click here to read the history and lyrics in full.  My favorite is #7.

All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord God made them all.

He gave us eyes to see them,
And lips that we might tell
How great is God Almighty,
Who has made all things well.

IMG_0129

Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you have a blessed day!

****

My 2013 lineup thus far besides “New Life” – click on links for more information:

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilter’s World QUILT & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze, to be posted

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

57 thoughts on “New life in QUILTER’S WORLD (February 2013)

  1. Wendy, you give new life to panels! I am going on a quilt shop hop this Spring and panels are on my list of things to purchase. Great job!!

  2. I love panels and really enjoyed seeing how you have quilted this one. Great ideas–I have a hard time deciding just how to quilt them. Thanks for sharing.

  3. It was a cute quilt before you quilted it and you made it into a stunning quilt! I absolutely love the feathers…the perfect design for the circles. And, I loved the tumbling triangles in the border. That I have never seen before and it is wonderful. you are a very creative quilter. I like the brown mini-polka dot, too.
    donna j in KS

  4. This quilt is just too cute for words! I’m so impressed by your quilting. Thank you for the link to your free hand feathered wreaths. I will definitely be giving it a go!

  5. I love the brown polka-dots, and the little brown/cream scalllops next to it. And thank you, Donna J, for identifying the name of the HST border…hadn’t heard of it, nor ever seen it, but I LOVE it!! I like to use a panel when someone (almost always at short notice) asks if I can make them a baby quilt. They do lend themselves well to quilting the shapes, and I can do that fairly quick and easy on the long-arm. The “mantra” of my LA quilter’s bee is “when in doubt about what to quilt on a project…quilt the shapes in the fabric!”

  6. Wow, Wendy! I love seeing what you do with panels. When I see panel fabrics in shops I always think they are boring because “all the work is done” and you don’t get to piece a design. But then when I see what YOU do with a panel… It makes me want to find that exact fabric so I can try the same thing. Your quilting really does make those simple panels look super-special!

  7. Pingback: Garden Maze in Quilter’s World’s QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Special Interest Publication, Spring 2013) « Ivory Spring

  8. Pingback: Now I know my ABC’s in Fons and Porter’s LOVE OF QUILTING (March/April 2013) « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Monkey Around in QUILTER’S WORLD’S (April 2013) | Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: “Quilting Curvy Feathers” in MACHINE QUILTING UNLIMITED (March/April 2013) | Ivory Spring

  11. Pingback: In the Meadow in THE QUILTER (April/May 2013) | Ivory Spring

  12. Pingback: Curious Cats in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2013) | Ivory Spring

  13. Pingback: Stained Glass in SIMPLE QUILTS & SEWING (Spring 2013) | Ivory Spring

  14. Pingback: 2 Wishes in QUILTS AND MORE (Spring 2013) | Ivory Spring

  15. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #10: Spring 2013 | Ivory Spring

  16. Pingback: Fabrique Foursome in Fons & Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2013) | Ivory Spring

  17. Pingback: Color Burst in QUILT (June/July 2013) | Ivory Spring

  18. Pingback: Sunburst Melody in SWEET LAYER CAKES by Annie’s | Ivory Spring

  19. Pingback: Pattern Play in QUILT (June/July 2013) | Ivory Spring

  20. Pingback: Yay Day in Quilt-it… today (July/August 2013) | Ivory Spring

  21. Pingback: Garden Mist in QUILTER’S WORLD (Summer 2013) | Ivory Spring

  22. Pingback: Enchanted Forest in QUILT (August/September 2013) | Ivory Spring

  23. Pingback: Christmas Cheer in QUILTER’S WORLD (Autumn 2013) | Ivory Spring

  24. Pingback: Rise & Shine in QUILT (October/November 2013) | Ivory Spring

  25. Pingback: Rising Stars, COVER QUILT, in THE QUILTER (August/September 2013) | Ivory Spring

  26. Pingback: Interlock in FONS & PORTER’S EASY QUILTS (Fall 2013) | Ivory Spring

  27. Pingback: Manhattan in QUILT TRENDS (Fall 2013) | Ivory Spring

  28. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #12: Panel Power | Ivory Spring

  29. Pingback: Midnight Flurry in THE QUILTER (Holiday 2013) | Ivory Spring

  30. Pingback: Persian Rug in FAT QUARTER SHUFFLE by Annie’s | Ivory Spring

  31. Pingback: Boxing Day in THE QUILTER (December 2013/January 2014) | Ivory Spring

  32. Pingback: Starry Dance in Annie’s FAT QUARTER SHUFFLE | Ivory Spring

  33. Pingback: COVER QUILT ALERT!! Nature Walk in AMERICAN PATCHWORK & QUILTING 2014 CALENDAR | Ivory Spring

  34. Pingback: “To Australia with love” COVER QUILT Alert: Farm Crossing in Australian Quilters Companion | Ivory Spring

  35. Pingback: Farm Crossing in THE QUILTER (December 2013/January 2014) | Ivory Spring

  36. Pingback: Christmastide in FONS & PORTER’S EASY QUILTS (Winter 2013) | Ivory Spring

  37. Pingback: Quilty Christmas Ornaments in QUILTER’S WORLD (Autumn 2013) | Ivory Spring

  38. Pingback: 2013 Recap Series: Riley Blake | Ivory Spring

  39. Pingback: 2013 Recap Series: Quilter’s World | Ivory Spring

  40. Pingback: Elephant Walk in QUILTER’S WORLD (Winter 2013) | Ivory Spring

  41. Pingback: COVER QUILT ALERT! Scrappy Jewels in FONS & PORTER’S EASY QUILTS (Winter 2013) | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

