“Iron Man” Quilt: Sneak Peek #1

Happy Monday, Friends!  I am still not out of the woods, but I have been slaving over a quilt which I have nicknamed “Iron Man” quilt.  You know I am not too crazy about piecing, but this “Iron Man” quilt is nothing BUT piecing.  So, I pieced, and I pieced, and I pieced while being sick.  I felt like I was in an endurance course, thus the nickname.  I am very thrilled with the result nonetheless.  Here is a sneaky peek for you.

IMG_4736

I will tell you more about this quilt when it is officially featured.  Despite the seemingly endless piecing, this is going down as one of the most rewarding projects I have ever done.  Stay tuned for details.

Now, I would love to hear any tips from you piece-rs out there on how to enjoy piecing better when one has made the SAME block for the 25th time.

Gotta run.  I shall be back tomorrow.  You all be good now. :)

37 thoughts on ““Iron Man” Quilt: Sneak Peek #1

  1. no advice from me, sorry, just kudos! that’s just beautiful. i love how you lined up the farm fence, too – looks just like it’s all one piece! lovely. hope you’re feeling much better real soon!

  2. To give you any advice would be totally hypocritical, since I canNOT seem to make more than 1 of anything without going, somewhat, crazy. I just have to keep telling myself that I am building self-discipline with each step along the way! However, sometimes the gnashing of teeth is so loud that I can’t hear that piece of lofty thinking!!! LOL! Then I resort to…..Let’s just get this done! That has worked every time!!!!!!!! Hope you are feeling better(?) and your deadlines become less heavy in the near future. Even the things we enjoy become a burden if we are overwhelmed by them! Blessings, prayers (for sure) and hugs, Doreen

  3. I know what you mean, that’s why I like making sampler quilts, altho I’ve made some queens with all the same blocks, very tedious. I like the way you’ve changed directions of the half-square triangles, can’t wait to see the whole quilt.

    • Your piecing skills are phenomenal! For someone who does not enjoy this process you have certainly mastered the techniques. I enjoy both piecing & appliqué. With piecing I first create one block so I know where I’m heading. Then I work through a series of steps by chain piecing the small units & then building the blocks. There is a relaxing, even mesmerizing affect to this process. The remainder of the blocks are “born” at the same time; I feel wonder and satisfaction at what I have created.

  4. How big will it end up being? I made a baby quilt using a similar pattern of a ton of little tiny triangle scraps, and it was nothing short of an act of God that they actually all fit together:) It was a lot of work, but it looked amazing when it was done. Keep the faith:)

  5. Very pretty peek! Well, I love to piece LOL! I use triangulations when I have tons of HST’s to make~ they always come out accurate, so I can focus more on getting the blocks together. ;-) Can’t wait to see more…. happy stitching!

  6. Beautiful color combination. I’m eagerly waiting to hear the magic answer to you question. I get so bored with the same block over and over and, for me, HST’s are the most boring of all. Not sure what the “triangulations” mentioned above are, but will have to figure it out if it makes HST’s go faster.

  7. It sure is pretty. I am anxious to see the completed quilt.

    When i have many of the same block to do, I do lots and lots of “chaining”…..then when I assemble the blocks, all of a sudden a multiple number of blocks are completed at the same time. i never do one block at a time unless it is a sampler quilt.

  8. I certainly love it so far! I have no advice for you…. once I’ve done a block too many times I just can’t do it again. That’s the main reason I do very few quilts that call for a million blocks all the same design. And when I do choose to make one, it usually takes me a loooooong time to finish it because I keep putting it down for months until I can bear to look at it again. However, when I am trudging through a project and trying to slog through to the end, I always turn on a good book to listen to on the iPod or I play praise music and sing along at the top of my lungs. Hint – I only do that if I am the only one home :*D

  9. Well your piecing is very accurate. Love your points. What I do when doing mindless work is have the tv on in the background and “listen” to the shows. I also have my cup filled with tea or coffee and just relax and try to be as accurate as possible. Can’t wait to see the whole quilt

  10. Gosh, your piecing is perfection! Precision piecing is one of my 2013 goals (to improve). If you later come up with any tips too share I’m all ears. In the meantime, I can think I understand why this quilt is currently called “Iron Man”. But somehow I think it will end up with a very cuddly and comfortable name. Looks like it will be beautiful and well worth the work of piecing 600+ HST.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  11. I am just nosy…did you design this or did the magazine commission a quilt with all this piecing? Either way, you must be an incredible trooper to do 25 identical blocks, with all that piecing, while sick….you are a wonder woman! When I do that kind of piecing, I have to do it in bits and spurts…and I listen to a lot of podcasts or books on tape….as always, my hat is off to you and your determination, and talent.!

  12. I don’t know if I have done more than 25+ of the same piece but I love the the way your sneak peak is looking. I am planning on doing a piece quilt with my scraps. Should I be rethinking my plan? I love your pattern though. It amazes me how you come up with your quilts so quickly, and all of them are so beautiful.

  13. How I do repetition….different colors help a whole lot! Otherwise, I make small oversized units so I can focus on the TV or the stereo or listen to a good book. That makes the time go faster. Then when the initial small units are done, I trim them down to the correct size, then make the whole block. It really helps to have your focus on something else while you do this robotically. Also, “mindful meditation” on working the small squares helps, too.
    Loved your fine piecing.
    donna j from kansas

  14. When I’ve had to do this it helped to have a set sequence for the steps and whenever possible, set them up so you can continuously sew as much of the block together as possible at one time.

    Also have pieces for more than one block prepared (I love “Bee In My Bonnet’s block boards!) and if possible, continuous sew more than one block’s parts at a time. The more blocks you can knock out in a sitting, the faster it seems to go!

    Look forward to seeing the final quilt!

  15. Hope you are feeling better soon. Can’t wait to see the whole quilt!! My system for piecing like blocks is to make myself do 3 or 4, take a break and do 3 or 4 more.

    Today is a good day for piecing…….the windchill in Wisconsin is -25!!!!

  16. I don’t like piecing either Wendy. I have to be in the mood. lol Your piecing is wonderful, all your points look perfect. Can’t wait to see it after it is quilted.
    Hope you are feeling better.

  17. For someone who is not into piecing, your triangle points look pretty impressive! I kind of like the monotony of patchwork. My mind can wander as my hands and machine get the job done on autopilot. I like to listen to music or NPR while doing this kind of sewing. Audiobooks would be good, too. Just relax! I love seeing how all the little pieces of fabric come together to become something completely different.

    I hope you’re feeling better soon!

  18. Pingback: Post – “Iron Man” Quilt confession « Ivory Spring

  19. I’m a newbie to this site, so this is my first reply. What a wonderful job you do Wendy! I enjoy the piecing process and watching “my baby” grow into a grown up quilt. I also listen to books on tape while I work, do all the same step til I’ve finished that step and then move on to the next step. I don’t have very many long sessions at the machine at a time, I usually grab 20 minutes here and 1 hour there, so that could be why I still enjoy the piecing process!

  20. I think you’ve done a spectacular job of piecing. It’s very precise. I love piecing. I wish my piecing was so square & neat.

Leave a Reply

