The ABC’s of Victorian Christmas

I came across this sweet piece perusing the news while taking a break from working.  These are pages from a first edition (British) Christmas ABC book from 120 years ago, found in the rare book section in a university library.

article-2251033-1697BCAE000005DC-39_306x376

article-2251033-1697BCB6000005DC-347_306x376

[image source: Daily Mail, UK]

It’s nice to get a glimpse of the bygone days.  Click here to read the full article — the imagery is worth it, trust me.  I think the pictures will delight those of you who collect antique or vintage postcards.  Ellen of Happy Wonderer comes to mind when I saw the pictures. This post is for you, Ellen! :)

Have a very Merry Christmasy sort of weekend, everyone!

12 thoughts on “The ABC’s of Victorian Christmas

  1. That is exactly how I “picture” the season (in my mind!). The rich images of ‘Old England’/Victorian Era are the ones that draw me! The colors, warmth and glow of vibrant burgundy, forest green and ivory parchment together with the amazing calligraphy art and plum puddings (yum!). Christmas Blessings together with His Peace and Joy are wished for you, Wendy, and your loved ones…….

  2. thanks for sharing Merry Christmas Nancy

    “Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful. ” Norman Vincent Peale

    Happiness is different from pleasure. Happiness has something to do with struggling and enduring and accomplishing. – George Sheehan

    ________________________________

  3. How delightful! Thanks for sharing this, Wendy! Now, wouldn’t it be wonderful to incorporate these rhymes into a Christmas alphabet quilt? Embroidery… Applique… Ah, the possibilities! :-)

  4. Love the vintage postcards. I have several from the 1920′s that my grandfather had sent to various relatives/friends. Not quite “vintage” I suppose, but priceless in my eyes and heart! Just took my last batch of cookies out of the oven, put the potatoes in, and am waiting for DH to grill some ribeyes. Have the last gift-wrapping to do tomorrow…then plan to relax myself right into Christmas Day!! Hope everyone has a joyous Christmas and enjoys this magical time of year!

  5. Thank you for posting the Victorian Christmas ABC’s. I love the Victorian times and thought that the Christmases past were more about family then today.

  6. The Victorian ABC’s are a nice reminder of many vintage Christmas ornaments I remember. The artwork of times past is beautiful. Thank you for sharing these! Merry Christmas, dear Wendy ~
    :-}pokey

  7. That is beautiful, Wendy. So lovely.

    I’m dropping by to wish you and yours a very Merry Chritmas! Much, much love to you, my sweet friend, and all the best life has to offer.

    XO,

    Sheila

Leave a Reply

