Silver Maple in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Winter 2012)

 

Hello Friends, my Silver Maple quilt is featured in the latest Fons and Porter‘s Easy Quilts Winter 2012 issue! YAY!

[image source: Fons and Porter]

This small-sized wall hanging can easily fit a narrow display area.  The color has a wintery sort of feel to it!  Don’t you think?

[image source: Fons and Porter]

The fabrics used are from Thimbleberries’ Pressed Flowers collection, released by RJR Fabrics.  This is my second featured Pressed Flowers quilt.  You can view my first one here.

This is a foundation-pieced pattern.  If you have never tried foundation-piecing, this might be a fun one to try.  One great thing about foundation-piecing is that the points in your blocks will look REALLY impressive!!

Here are a couple more shots of the quilt:

The most fun part in making this quilt for me is the QUILTING!  Quilting is allover free-handed feathers done with Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

This is how the back looks

So, do tell me, what do you like or dislike about Silver Maple?  You can be totally honest…

Thanks for stopping by.  I hope my post finds you well today.  The weather has certainly be chilly at my end, and wet and rainy too a couple of days this week.   The cold weather makes running errands around town with a young child an even bigger drama – hats, coats, boots etc!  I am sure some of you go, “Uh-huh, been there, and done that!”  :)  You will not likely to hear from me until next Monday as it’s crunch time again over here… have a great weekend!

 

 

38 thoughts on “Silver Maple in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Winter 2012)

  1. I love this, as I love aquas and blues not sure I like the yellow too harsh might have been better with one of the softer yellows. JMO LOL for what it is worth.
    You quilting is outstanding as usual love it. Bunny

  2. I like the quilt block, and was going to ask if this was paper-piecing until I saw the tag. The overall effect of the colors is pleasing. One of the pictures shows up the yellowy/orange as a bit harsh, but I have a feeling that’s the picture, not so when seeing the whole piece, as the contrasts are good. As always, your feathers are beautiful. It’s also nice to see how to use a larger print. Well done!

  3. I LOVE this one!! I am especially fond of blue and yellow together! It would look fantastic in my blue and yellow kitchen!!! Absolutely nothing to NOT like!

  4. Upon seeing this I thought of the unique designs made by hoar frost under the perfect conditions…..see: https://www.google.com/search?q=hoar+frost&hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=FWE&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&prmd=imvns&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=mOq3UKuHLM-tqQHEqoHQAQ&ved=0CDgQsAQ&biw=1143&bih=681 or the minute fine fractures on clear smooth lake ice or on a window pane on a frosty morning. Conjures up all sorts of mind images (can’t you tell???). Also, the ballet “Swan Lake”…..sigh……..

  5. Gorgeous! You have inspired me to work, work, work on FMQing feathers and I have to say that it has paid off–they look so much better than I ever thought they could. Of course, they don’t come close to yours. I can’t for the life of me figure out the progression of all of the branching and nesting of all of the different feathers. Perhaps you can discuss how you get there in one of your great tutorials someday.

  6. Now I like that maple leaf design! Living in the south, we don’t see alot of maple trees so I’ve not wanted to make a runner with the traditional leaf design because it would seem out of place but this design would work very well. Love the fabrics, especially the blues. And always the back is as gorgeous as the front! The two tone stitching really makes it work so well together.

  7. All I can say is WOW! This is positively my favorite of all the quilts you’ve shown us in the last six months or so, maybe this entire year! Can you tell I love it?! Now, I’ve got to go out and find this magazine quick before they’re sold out!

  8. Oh my goodness. You manage to make beautiful quilts from fabrics I personally would not consider buying. The quilting is over the top. Where on the quilt did you begin the feathers? Your feathers are so gorgeous!!!

  9. I like everything about this quilt. This is my favorite one out of the magazine. Could you do a blog post on how you go about doing an all-over feather design like that? It is gorgeous. I love feathers.

  10. Wendy, what is not to like? As always, your feathers are superb. I did a few feathers on the last quilt I made. Much to learn. Do you draw your spine with a marker to give your eye a base? Happy quilting this weekend. Hope you get a lot done.

  11. Absolutely beautiful and the feathers are gorgeous! I like the colors and yes wintery looking. You did a fabulous job. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Hi Wendy, the quilted feathers are fabulous!!! I really like the back of the quilt!!! Did you sketch some of the spines, giving you a starting point? The pattern is stunning, not sure about having to paper piece to accomplish it though. I go more for the pinks and greens, not so much the blues. I know……everyone likes blue.

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful creativity.

  13. Greetings,
    Did you quilt it from the front or the back? Did you use the orange thread on the front as well, as it is not as strong as it is on the back? This is a classic example of my unanswered question on a previous post regarding the wrapping around of feathers on top of each other on the inside curves. I can so feathers on the outside curve but do not seam to have the knack of smoothly wrapping the plumes smoothly around each other on the inside curve. Is there a trick to doing it? Thanks so much.
    Betsey

  14. Omg, breathtaking! Almost can’t wait for the holidays to be over with so i can practice my fmq etc. This is one I would love to make. You are so motivating!!!
    Judy from Wisconsin

  15. I think everyone loves the feather quilted back, I could never do that. The only thing I dislike is the muted blue w/white dots background it looks a bit dull. BUT, will say it may look better than the pics…I’m one of those people who needs to see things like this in person. Hats off to you for such beautiful work.

  16. The question is what do I NOT like about the quilt? Everything is perfect. The colors are beautiful, the pattern looks fun, and the quilting is exquisite. The thread really makes the quilting pop. Or is the batting? Where do you get the batting, I think I would like to try it. Oh and by the way, I have a quilt that I am going to try your jester hat pattern. Wish me luck and have a great weekend!

  17. I love that you chose the yellows to quilt it in. I LOVE the quilting!! I really wish I could quilt like that, or have a quilt quilted like that someday. Ahhhh! Something about these yellows they aren’t glowing yellows and yet they are just enough to brighten my day

  18. This is beautiful, Wendy — but it sure doesn’t look “easy!” Is this block simpler to construct than it appears? I especially like the way you laid out the blocks for a bordered center medallion effect. And your freehand feathers, as always, are the stuff of dreams. :-)

  19. Hi Wendy…I loved the quilt, too. the colors work really well. It does give it a wintery feel to it. And I like the fabric selection. pretty. And of course, the feathers are “marvey-poo”!
    have a good weekend!

  20. Wendy, love your quilt as a table topper! It’s been a while since I have paper-pieced, so I will sure give this a try. Thanks for the inspiration.
    Happy Holidays!
    Nettie from Spanish Fork, Utah

  21. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown #5: Geometry! « Ivory Spring

  22. I like everything about this one and plan to buy the magazine so I can get the pattern! I love the block designs and want to use this one for a 12″ block I need for monthly challenge, it is so perfect. I especially love the way you quilted it with the two different colored bobbin threads. Just another winner from one of my favorite quilters!

  23. Pingback: Silver Maple makes cover: FONS & PORTER’S Table Toppers Book | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

