Floral Mosaic in THE QUILTER (April/May 2012)

Dear Friends, my Floral Mosaic quilt is back with me from The Quilter Magazine.  It is a nice feeling to have something featured in that magazine.

[from http://www.thequiltermag.com

Here is a larger view of the style shot:

This quilt was designed with piece-makers in mind!  I know some of you simply love love love to piece! :)  Hopefully, if you decide to use this pattern, you will enjoy working with all the different pieces.

I really like how the navy stands out among the other colors.  Don’t navy and red strike an eye-catching combination?  I can see this quilt used with patriotic accents.  How about you?

Due to the busy-ness of the fabric prints, quilting on this quilt is mainly an allover textured quilting.  The motif is a combination of swirls with floral shapes added in.  I used Aurifil‘s Mako 50 Cotton threads to quilt over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.  If you have not used my highly acclaimed Aurifil threads, you have got to give them a try!

The fabrics used for this quilt are from Thimbleberries’ Pressed Flowers, released by RJR Fabrics.  Unfortunately the fabrics are hard to come by/no longer available.  You might check with your local quilt shops.  The kits for this quilt were sold out quite early.  You could probably also substitute the fabrics with the other Thimbleberries fabrics from your stash.

The back of the quilt is pieced with fabrics from the same collection.  I left the selvage in to keep a record of the name of the fabric collection.  I actually saved myself some time by not cutting away the selvage. ;)  I love that big floral print.  It is also used in the border in the front of the quilt in case you couldn’t get a good look.

For now, this quilt is being folded up and stowed away as I haven’t found a use for it yet.  I keep telling myself I need to buy a few quilt ladders to display my quilts, but I haven’t.  If you know of any good sources for some nice quilt ladders, PLEASE let me know!

Thanks for stopping by.  I hope you have enjoyed Floral Mosaic.  Blessings to you!

12 thoughts on “Floral Mosaic in THE QUILTER (April/May 2012)

  1. Very nice! I like how you arranged the bigger fabric squares in the blocks.

    I’ve been wanting to ask you what you do with your quilts — if you use them around your home or give them as gifts or sell them. And when you use them as a table topper, are you able to get out spills from food easily?

  2. I see another magazine I want to buy because of your work, Wendy! I do love how navy sets off that beautiful flower print. Nice quilting too ~
    :-}pokey

  3. Absolutely gorgeous Wendy, I love it so much! Yes, you do need a way to show off your quilts….hm. Wish I knew of a source for ladders for you!

  4. Beautiful quilting, Wendy. Do you happen to have another picture, maybe of the back, where we can see the quilting pattern more clearly? I’m trying to follow the quilting lines to figure out how you got from one place to another, but I keep getting lost in the print. Or perhaps have you used that quilting design on another of your quilts where it’s easier to see the design? I like it! :-)

  5. Yet another so pretty quilt! Yes, you must display them. I bought my quilt ladder at an antique mall. Sold it recently to someone who wanted to use it in her kitchen, suspending horizonally it from the ceiling for hanging pots and pans!

  6. Pingback: The River Nile! « Ivory Spring

  7. Pingback: Silver Maple in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Winter 2012) « Ivory Spring

  8. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown #1: Sweet and Fresh « Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

