Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #32

I talked about using fabric prints as starting point for quilting motifs in a previous Thread Talk post here.  Today’s post is an extension of that concept.  Here you see the circles in the mini borders printed on a Silly Suggestions for Kids panel:

I could have quilted the circles individually, but that meant a lot of starting and stopping.  So, I just made up simple and quick swirls to go in between the circles.  The result is a fun and pseudo-customized quilted border that doesn’t require marking prior to quilting.  Pretty neat, eh?

When you are stumped as to how and what to quilt your quilt tops, always take a good look at the fabric prints to see if they can work for you!  Happy Quilting, my Friends!

p.s.  I am under the gun to meet two deadlines this week.  So, if you don’t hear from me, you will know why!

17 thoughts on “Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #32

  1. I love that Wendy! I have been trying that same thing on a quilt I’m working on right now. Thank you as always for your wonderful tips for easier machine quilting!

    Blessings,
    Sue

  2. My, you’re good! Struggling w/my machine quilting. You make it look so easy! Quick question – on the cute circular border quilting – do you go top to bottom or vice versa? Inquiring minds want to know.

  3. I love your quilted circle idea! They kind of look like little cherries or apples. Now you gave me the idea to use a round sticker and stitch around that with what to me look like leaves. I love it. If I knew how to ” pin” I would put it into my Pinterest, I have tons of quilt ideas. ;-)

  4. Pingback: A Tale as Tall as a Tree in QUILTER’S WORLD (October 2012) « Ivory Spring

  5. Pingback: IVORY SPRING: A Tale as Tall as a Tree in QUILTER’S WORLD (October 2012)

Leave a Reply

