Virtual Trunk Show #5: DENSE QUILTING, part 2

Greetings, friends!  I hope you are doing well.  My post is coming in a little late because I have been following the kick-off of Queen Elizabeth II’s Diamond Jubilee tour in England this morning.  How about more dense quilting for today’s trunk show?

1.  Candied Pomegranate (Quilter’s World, February 2012)

2.  Nestlings (The Quilter, April/May 2011) – stay tuned for the sequel pattern that will be released later this year!!!

3.  Americana Florals (The Quilter, December 2010/January 2011)

4.  Coxcomb and Berries (The Quilter, December 2011/January 2012)

5.  Harrison Urn

Now, tell me, which one caught your fancy this time?  I will share with you my favorite of all times – but just keep the secret to yourself, okay?  I sure don’t want my other quilts to feel jealous. :)

21 thoughts on “Virtual Trunk Show #5: DENSE QUILTING, part 2

  1. They are all gorgeous..I wish I could machine quilt like you! I attempt to but need to get more practice in. I agree with Jane..you need to publish a book.

  2. Wow!!! I love them all…The pomegranite is my favorite becasue of the softness to the colors. But………the last 2 get my vote for the quilting…just unreal!!

  3. It was a neck-and-neck battle between Nestlings and Candied Pomegranate. The Pomegranate one won! Something about it just really grabbed me. Now I need to go on a search to see if I have that maggazine!

  4. Every time I look at your quilts I think they are more beautiful! Choosing between “Nestlings” and “Harrison’s Urn” is a bit tough but there is just something about that first one that is not only gorgeously appealing in its quilting but, also, tugs at the heart strings;b Always a pleasure to see/read your posts….Hugs, Doreen

  5. My favorite is also nestling, but the other quilts are also nice. I’m not sure exactly what is meant by dense quilting. Is it a quilt style or is it just thick quilt, no matter how or what pattern? Could ypi explain that more??

    Greeting Guilitta

  6. The dense quilting is just lovely. If the larger appliques are left largely unquilted, however, they will wear funny and look flat and floppy with time. My suggestion is to give them a little more now and then so there is a nice balance. JMHO!

  7. oh dear are we going to change now, I had picked the Nesting with the birds nest and was looking forward to working on that, oh darn, and yes I wish so much to watch to Queen and all that is going on there. Yes I miss being in England. I will try and watch all on the T.V. that you are sending here to me, thank you so very much, LOVE the Queen take care HUGS Jeanne (angeljeanne) xox

  8. I just love all these quilts but the Nestlings has been one of my favorites. I can’t wait until we get to see the sequel to Nestlings. Then I may pick which one that I will make or try to make. Blessings and Happy Weekend. Carol

  9. I love the elegant feathers on pomegranate and cockscomb & berries. I really want to learn to do feathers like you.

  10. WOW! I just found your blog for the first time today, and I’m not sure how many hours I have been on here now,.. Thank you so much for the time you have put into all of your explanations about free motion quilting. I have used up every scratch paper in my house, and ran to the dollar store to get a blank pad to fill up with my experiments. Then of course, I posted on my blog telling everyone to come and check out your blog! I can’t believe you have only been quilting since 2005 – I started a couple of years later, but I was so encouraged when I realized you haven’t been doing this for 40 years! You have learned so much in so short a time, I have hope for me!! Thank you so much!

  11. Wow – your work is amazing! I see lovely works like yours and wonder if is ever going to be possible to turn out something like that?? Back to the machine….

Leave a Reply

